Solawave
Solawave 4-in-1 Radiant Renewal Skincare Wand
Handheld red light wand with warmth, vibration, current and an FDA clearance
$169
US price, checked
Handheld device
Handheld red and near-infrared device, listed with FDA but not cleared
Our reviews rest on published sources, not hands-on testing. Our method
Porsche also cofounded Superhuman Chambers, which sells hyperbaric chambers · About the author. This is general information, not medical advice, and no clinician has reviewed it.
LUMEBOX 2.0 is a handheld device with 660 nm red and 850 nm near-infrared light, and its spec sheet lists 15 LEDs. It suits you if you want a portable unit for the face or one joint, with irradiance published at a stated distance. The catch: FDA lists it as a registered device but hasn't cleared it, and Lumebox gives no output figure at the 6 inches it advises.
It has no FDA clearance, no output figure at its advised distance and a 15% restocking fee on returns.
At a glanceHandheld device
Model reviewed: Portable handheld red and near-infrared device, one configuration, stand sold separately
US price, checked
No affiliate commission on this link. Check the exact variant before buying.
List price on Lumebox's US product page, in US dollars. The page labels $629 'Sale price' but prints no regular price, so it's recorded as the list price. Tax is extra, and Lumebox doesn't state a US shipping cost. The $59 stand isn't counted. Spare parts are $29.95 for the charger, $19.95 for the handle, $24.95 for the case and $19.95 for goggles.
A GOOD FIT FOR
You want a portable red and near-infrared device with irradiance published at 1 cm.
THINK TWICE IF
No. FDA’s registration and listing database lists Lumebox under product code ILY with no 510(k) number. A search of FDA’s 510(k) data for the name Lumebox found no match1114.
ILY is ‘lamp, infrared, therapeutic heating’, a Class II category that FDA exempts from 510(k), so devices in it can be sold without a clearance13. Lumebox calls itself ‘FDA-registered’1 and ‘registered with the FDA as a Class II Medical Device’4. That’s a listing, not a clearance, and it isn’t an FDA finding that the device works1113.
Lumebox’s manual says the device isn’t intended to cure, heal or diagnose any medical condition5.
| Exact variant | Portable handheld red and near-infrared device, one configuration, stand sold separately |
|---|---|
| Wavelengths | 660 nm red and 850 nm near infrared, run as red, near infrared or both together. Lumebox says each dual-chip bulb emits both |
| LEDs | 15 LEDs rated 3 W each, per the spec sheet. The product page and manual give no LED count |
| Irradiance | Red 125 mW/cm² and near infrared 140 mW/cm² at 1 cm, averaged over 15 readings in Lumebox's charts. Lumebox says a first lab measured above 150 mW/cm², and it published the lower figures from a second lab. No reading at the 6 in distance it advises |
| Session | A 12-minute cycle with a beep at 6 and 12 minutes, then a mandatory 3-minute cool-down. For skin, Lumebox suggests about 6 minutes at 6 in, 3 to 5 times a week. For joints and muscles, it suggests 6 to 12 minutes close to the skin, 3 to 7 times a week |
| Power | The spec sheet lists 12 W consumption and about 6 W output. The manual lists 5.4 to 6.9 W depending on mode. The adapter is DC 9 V 3 A |
| Battery | Lithium-ion pack, capacity not stated. The spec sheet gives 140 to 150 minutes per charge. The manual gives up to 3 hours to charge, at least 500 full charge cycles and a 3-year product life |
| FDA status | Registered and listed with FDA under product code ILY (lamp, infrared, therapeutic heating), a Class II category exempt from 510(k). The listing shows no 510(k) number |
| Eye safety | Goggles come in the box. The manual says to wear eyewear, especially in near-infrared mode, and not to stare at the LEDs. It classes the device as IEC 62471 risk group 1 (low risk) |
| Standards and EMF | The manual lists IEC 60601-1, 60601-1-11, 60601-2-57, 62233 and 62471, and an IP22 rating. Lumebox reports 0.2 µT at 0 cm from an SGS test dated May 13, 2022 |
| In the box | Handheld device, travel case, internal battery, comfort-grip handle, AC adapter, user manual and protective eyewear |
| Controls | One power button: tap to start and to cycle red, near infrared and both, and hold for 2 to 3 seconds to turn off. It remembers the last mode. Lumebox mentions no app |
| Dimensions | 7.25 x 4.25 x 1.75 in and about 4 lb, per the spec sheet on Lumebox's specs page. The page doesn't say which version of the device the sheet describes, and the manual gives no size or weight to check it against. |
| Materials | Not stated by the manufacturer. |
None. It's a handheld unit with an internal lithium-ion battery that charges from the included AC adapter (100 to 240 V, DC 9 V 3 A). The manual says it won't run while plugged in and takes up to 3 hours to charge fully. An optional comfort-grip handle screws onto the back. A stand is sold separately.
One year from purchase, covering defects in materials and workmanship. It's limited to the original buyer and doesn't cover units bought from third-party sellers. Lumebox chooses between repair, replacement and refund, and says it may pay to ship a repaired or replacement unit back to you. The policy doesn't say who pays to ship the unit to Lumebox. Exclusions include improper use, modifications, unauthorized repair and normal wear and tear. Claims go by email to help@thelumebox.com.
30 days to return it, with a 15% restocking fee and return shipping at your cost. The policy counts the 30 days from purchase and wants the return postmarked within them, while the FAQ and manual count from receipt. You need an Authorized Return Number from help@thelumebox.com, and the device must come back in its original condition and packaging with all components. The original shipping and handling isn't refunded. Lumebox says refunds take about two weeks after it gets the unit. The policy doesn't say whether a used device qualifies.
LUMEBOX 2.0 is a handheld device with 660 nm red and 850 nm near-infrared light, sold for $629 on Lumebox's US store. Its spec sheet lists 15 LEDs. FDA lists it under product code ILY, which is exempt from 510(k), and shows no 510(k) number, so it isn't FDA cleared. Lumebox reports 125 mW/cm² red and 140 mW/cm² near infrared at 1 cm. It gives no figure at the 6 inches it advises for skin. A session is a 12-minute cycle followed by a 3-minute cool-down. The warranty is one year, and returns carry a 15% restocking fee. Lumebox says the studies it cites used research devices, not Lumebox.
Strengths on paper
Limitations
PLAN YOUR OWNERSHIP COSTS
Change the assumptions to fit your use. Leave an unknown cost blank. Add water, subscriptions, cleaning, shipping and taxes if they apply. Use average operating power, not the maximum rating.
3-year planning total
$629.47Every field has a value. This is an estimate, not a quote.
Energy component: $0.47
Purchase + installation + years × (annual consumables + annual other) + watts/1000 × hours/day × 365 × years × $/kWh. Annualized allowances, not an exact replacement schedule. Excludes taxes, shipping, finance and resale unless entered.Recorded recurring parts and refills:
Does red light therapy work? Our evidence review grades the research as Mixed. That grade is about the claim, not about this product.
Solawave
Handheld red light wand with warmth, vibration, current and an FDA clearance
$169
US price, checked
About this review. The facts on this page come from manufacturer pages and regulator records, checked between Oct 20 and Oct 23, 2026. The sources are listed above.
Our editorial policy →