PRODUCT REVIEWS & BUYING GUIDES
US EDITION · USD

COST TO OWN

Red light therapy masks and panels: what they cost to own over three years

With a red light therapy mask or panel, the price tag is most of what you’ll pay. None of the 14 masks and panels in the guide lists a required filter, bulb, refill or subscription. The costs that surprise people are one-time: a stand, a return fee, or a battery the warranty doesn’t cover. This page explains the three-year estimate on every red-light review.

The bottom line

The estimate is the purchase and installation, plus three years of parts and fees, plus electricity at an editable $0.18 per kWh. For red light, the purchase is nearly the whole total. Budget instead for a stand if you need one, return fees and battery wear.

See our red-light therapy picks →

Source-based analysis, not hands-on testing. Our method

Cofounder of Superhuman Chambers · About the author. General information, not medical advice. No independent clinical review is claimed.

In this article

How the three-year estimate works

Where a panel’s power draw and schedule are known, electricity adds about $1 to $8 a year, or about $3 to $23 over three years61032. The masks and the BON CHARGE, Joovv and Kala panels lack a usable power figure or schedule, so their electricity cost stays unknown1113. Below, we explain the calculation, walk through an example and list what each maker publishes.

Every red-light review has a three-year estimate built the same way. Three-year cost = purchase + installation + 3 × annual consumables + 3 × annual other costs + electricity. Electricity is (watts ÷ 1,000) × hours per day × 365 × 3 × your price per kWh.

Watts should be the power a panel draws from the wall. Don’t use irradiance or an LED wattage class. Hooga, for example, gives the PRO1500 a 1,500 W rating. Its product page lists 530 W of power consumption, and its comparison chart says 300 W12. Hours per day is a budgeting assumption from the maker’s suggested schedule, not a recommended dose.

The calculator starts at $0.18 per kWh, an editable assumption rather than your local rate. Use the rate on your bill if you know it. Enter zero only when a cost is known to be zero. A missing value leaves an incomplete subtotal, not a smaller total. Taxes, shipping, financing and resale value are left out unless you add them.

A worked example

These made-up numbers show the math, not a real product. Take a $500 purchase with $100 of installation. Add $60 a year in supplies and a $20 yearly fee. The device draws 50 W for 8 hours a day. Electricity costs $0.20 per kWh. Over three years that comes to $927.60, and $87.60 of it is electricity.

At the $0.18 default, electricity costs $78.84 instead. The total falls to $918.84. If the installation cost were unknown, the known subtotal at $0.20 would be $827.60. That’s an incomplete figure, not the full cost of owning it.

Worked example: three years at $0.20 per kWh
ItemHow it’s figuredThree years
PurchasePaid once$500.00
InstallationPaid once$100.00
Supplies3 × $60$180.00
Yearly fee3 × $20$60.00
Electricity50 W × 8 h × 365 × 3 = 438 kWh, at $0.20$87.60
TotalSum of the above$927.60

Mask or panel: what three years of red light costs

Running costs are so small that the three-year estimate stays close to the price. A mask costs $349 to $649.99 up front34. No mask maker publishes power draw, so electricity stays unknown. For scale, one full charge of CurrentBody’s 9.62 Wh battery is under 0.01 kWh33.

Small panels add a few dollars. The MitoPRO 300X comes to about $452.45, including $3.45 of electricity6. Nothing else is added, because Mito’s app is free on the App Store37. The BIOMAX 300 comes to about $667.51, including $8.51 of electricity7.

Among full-size panels, the Hooga PRO1500 comes to about $1,211.54 over three years1. The MitoPRO 1500X comes to $1,310.55, and the BIOMAX 900 to $1,322.18810. The BON CHARGE, Joovv and Kala estimates are incomplete, because power draw, a session schedule, app fees or installation is unknown1113. Their known subtotals are just the prices: $1,599, $1,699 and $1,139.99. Joovv’s and Kala’s are sale prices1213.

Recurring costs across the lineup

The table lists the parts, refills, subscriptions and power draw each review records. Panels come first, because that’s where electricity adds up. Electricity uses each review’s own wattage and hours per day at $0.18 per kWh. The hours assume the top of the maker’s suggested schedule for one body area. For the MitoPRO 1500X and 300X, that’s six sessions a week, the top of the 4 to 6 in Mito’s manual38. Mito’s product page says 4 to 78. The 750X review uses that page’s top figure, so it assumes a session every day15.

Recurring costs recorded in the red-light reviews, checked October 13, 2026
ProductParts, refills and subscriptionsPower drawElectricity, 3 years at $0.18
MitoPRO 1500XNone listed; the app is free837418.7 W measured by LightLab; Mito lists 445 W89About $11.55 (10 min, 6 days a week)
PlatinumLED BIOMAX 900None listed10490 W in Solo mode, 490.9 W measured; 380 W in Remote mode101432About $23.18 (20 min, 5 days a week)
Hooga PRO1500None listed; Hooga says you don’t need an app1530 W on the product page, 300 W on the chart12About $12.54 at 530 W (10 min, 5 days a week)
BON CHARGE Super MaxNone listed111,500 W listed, possibly a nominal LED rating11Unknown: no session schedule given
Joovv Solo 3.0None listed; app fees not stated12Not published12Unknown
Kala EliteNone listed; controller battery not included13Only ‘385W (231*5W)’, which doesn’t add up13Unknown
MitoPRO 750XNone listed; the app is free1537225 W listed15About $7.54 (10 min a day)
MitoPRO 300XNone listed; the app is free637125 W listed, 111.8 W measured69About $3.45 (10 min, 6 days a week)
PlatinumLED BIOMAX 300None listed7180 W listed, 174.8 W measured716About $8.51 (20 min, 5 days a week)
CurrentBody Series 2None required; optional kit adds hydrogel masks and serum for $805Not published; 9.62 Wh battery533Unknown; under 0.01 kWh per charge
Dr. Dennis Gross FaceWare ProNone listed17Not published17Unknown
HigherDOSE Red Light Face MaskNone listed; serum bundle optional3Not published3Unknown
Omnilux Contour FaceNone required; optional $29 hydrogel mask, pack size not stated18Not published18Unknown
Therabody TheraFace MaskNone listed4Not published; two 1,500 mAh cells434Unknown

Panels: electricity is the only running cost

No panel in the guide lists bulbs, filters, refills or a subscription. Electricity stays small because sessions are short. Mito reports that LightLab measured the MitoPRO 1500X at 418.7 W from the wall9. At 0.14 hours a day (10 minutes, six days a week), that’s about 21 kWh a year, or $3.85 a year at $0.18 per kWh.

The BIOMAX 900 has the highest electricity estimate in the guide. PlatinumLED lists 490 W in Solo mode and suggests up to 20 minutes per area1032. At 20 minutes, five days a week, it uses about 43 kWh a year, or about $23 over three years. PlatinumLED allows two or three areas a day, which would multiply it10.

Three panels have no electricity estimate. BON CHARGE lists 1,500 W, which equals its 300 LEDs at 5 W each, and doesn’t recommend how many sessions to do11. Joovv publishes no power figure12. Kala’s only wattage figure, ‘385W (231*5W)’, doesn’t match its own math, since 231 × 5 W is 1,155 W13. Even at a full 1,500 W, a 10-minute session would use 0.25 kWh, about 4.5 cents at $0.18.

Joovv doesn’t say whether its app is free12. Mito’s App Store listing shows its app as free, with no in-app purchases37. Mito’s panels also have a touchscreen for direct control6.

Masks: the battery is the part to watch

No mask in the guide needs a refill or subscription, and charging costs very little. The cost to watch is the battery wearing out. None of the five makers publishes a price for a replacement battery351718.

Warranties don’t help much here. Omnilux counts batteries as consumable parts, so normal wear isn’t covered by its 2-year warranty19. Therabody’s 1-year warranty excludes battery wear unless a defect caused it20. HigherDOSE’s one-year terms don’t mention the battery, and Dr. Dennis Gross doesn’t state battery life1721.

Add-ons are optional. CurrentBody’s kit adds five hydrogel masks and a green tea serum for $80 more5. HigherDOSE sells the mask with its Glow Serum for $418, against $349 alone335. Omnilux sells a $29 hydrogel mask but doesn’t say how many come in a pack18.

Stands, mounts and returns

Most panels hang over a door with a kit in the box, and the 300X comes with a tabletop stand6. So their estimates count installation as zero. A stand costs extra. Mito’s floor stand costs $139 and its universal stand $3498. For floor use, the 300X needs the universal stand, which brings it to $7986. PlatinumLED’s tabletop stand for the BIOMAX 300 costs $1197.

Two installation costs are unknown. Joovv’s product page lists no box contents and doesn’t show what its setups cost12. Kala doesn’t say what its hanging kit attaches to13. Kala’s roller boot and stand setups cost $310 to $610 more than the hanging-kit version’s sale price1336.

Returns aren’t in the estimate, but they can cost real money. PlatinumLED charges a 20% restocking fee, and you pay return shipping22. The fee alone is $131.80 on a BIOMAX 300 and $259.80 on a BIOMAX 900. Kala charges a $15 restocking fee, and you pay return shipping23.

Hooga takes return shipping out of your refund24. Mito and BON CHARGE leave return shipping to you2526. Mito covers it only if you bought its optional return protection at checkout.

Mask return terms vary too. HigherDOSE gives you 120 days and a prepaid return label27. Therabody pays standard return shipping28. Omnilux deducts a $15 return fee, and Dr. Dennis Gross charges $10 for device returns2930. CurrentBody won’t take back an opened mask for a change of mind, and you pay return postage31.

These links go to each brand’s own store and earn us no commission. Prices are dated US snapshots.

Keep reading

Sources

  1. PRO1500 Red Light Therapy Panel Hooga · manufacturer
  2. PRO Series Panel Comparison Chart Hooga · manufacturer
  3. Red Light Therapy Face Mask - FDA Cleared HigherDOSE · manufacturer
  4. TheraFace Mask (Red Light LED Mask) Therabody · manufacturer
  5. CurrentBody Skin LED Red Light Therapy Face Mask: Series 2 CurrentBody · manufacturer
  6. MitoPRO X | Red Light Therapy Panel Series (MitoPRO 300X) Mito Red Light · manufacturer
  7. PlatinumLED BIOMAX Series red light therapy panels (BIOMAX 300) PlatinumLED · manufacturer
  8. MitoPRO X | Red Light Therapy Panel Series (MitoPRO 1500X) Mito Red Light · manufacturer
  9. Red Light Therapy Panel Irradiance Data: Independent ISO/IEC 17025 Lab Reports Mito Red Light · manufacturer
  10. PlatinumLED BIOMAX Series red light therapy panels (BIOMAX 900) PlatinumLED · manufacturer
  11. Super Max Red Light Therapy Device BON CHARGE · manufacturer
  12. Joovv Solo 3.0 | Full Body LED Red Light Therapy Device Joovv · manufacturer
  13. Kala Red Light Elite Panel Kala · manufacturer
  14. BIOMAX 900 summary test report LLIA002639-004A (hosted by PlatinumLED) LightLab International Allentown, 2025
  15. MitoPRO X | Red Light Therapy Panel Series (MitoPRO 750X) Mito Red Light · manufacturer
  16. BIOMAX 300 intensity testing report LLIA002684-001 (hosted by PlatinumLED) LightLab International Allentown, 2025
  17. DRx SpectraLite FaceWare Pro 3-Minute LED Device Dr. Dennis Gross · manufacturer
  18. Omnilux Contour Face Omnilux · manufacturer
  19. Warranty Policy Omnilux · manufacturer
  20. Warranty Terms Therabody · manufacturer
  21. Warranty HigherDOSE · manufacturer
  22. Refund policy PlatinumLED · manufacturer
  23. Kala Return Policy Kala · manufacturer
  24. Refund policy Hooga · manufacturer
  25. Returns, Refund and Warranty Policies Mito Red Light · manufacturer
  26. Refund policy (returns, faulty products and extended warranty) BON CHARGE · manufacturer
  27. Return Policy HigherDOSE · manufacturer
  28. Return Policy Therabody · manufacturer
  29. Returns Policy Omnilux · manufacturer
  30. Returns and refunds Dr. Dennis Gross · manufacturer
  31. Shipping & Returns CurrentBody · manufacturer
  32. FAQ PlatinumLED · manufacturer
  33. K250966 510(k) summary: CurrentBody Skin LED Light Therapy Mask Series 2 U.S. Food and Drug Administration · regulator
  34. K230293 510(k) summary: TheraFace Mask U.S. Food and Drug Administration · regulator
  35. Red Light Face Mask store listing (variant prices) HigherDOSE · manufacturer · data file
  36. Kala Red Light Elite Panel store listing (variant prices) Kala · manufacturer · data file
  37. MitoRedLight app (App Store listing) Mito Red Light, via Apple App Store · manufacturer
  38. MitoPRO X user manual (January 2026) Mito Red Light, 2026 · manufacturer

How this was written. Written from the sources listed above, checked . It is general information, not medical advice. Talk to a clinician before acting on anything here if you have a health condition or take medication.

Our editorial policy →