PRODUCT REVIEWS & BUYING GUIDES
US EDITION · USD

Ice tub

Ice Barrel 500

Insulated 94-gallon ice tub for people up to 6 ft 9 in, chiller-ready, sold without one

$1,749.99US price, checked
Check price at Ice Barrel for Ice Barrel 500

Our reviews rest on published sources, not hands-on testing. Our method

Porsche also cofounded Superhuman Chambers, which sells hyperbaric chambers · About the author. This is general information, not medical advice, and no clinician has reviewed it.

The verdict

The Ice Barrel 500 is a 94-gallon insulated tub with a seat and steps, built for people up to 6 ft 9 in. It's $1,749.99 plus $300 shipping and needs no power. The catches: cold water depends on ice, the lifetime warranty is capped at 3 years, and returns cost 30%.

The trade-off

Cold water depends on ice, the "lifetime" warranty is capped at 3 years, and returns cost 30%.

Ice Barrel 500, manufacturer product image
Photo: Ice Barrel.Source ↗

Model reviewed: Barrel with lid and cover, no chiller (94 gallons)

$1,749.99

US price, checked

Check price at Ice Barrel

No affiliate commission on this link. Check the exact variant before buying.

  • Returns 30 days from delivery, minus a 30% restocking fee that also covers return shipping. See conditions
  • Warranty Limited lifetime, capped at 3 years by Ice Barrel's own warranty page. See conditions
  • Delivery Freight to the contiguous US for $300, arriving 7 to 13 days after you order.
About this price

Regular price on Ice Barrel's US product page on Oct 20, 2026, with no sale. The page gives a $300 shipping rate to the contiguous US, which would make it $2,049.99 before tax, though it also says shipping is calculated at checkout. The chiller ($3,999.99), water stabilizer ($59.99) and maintenance kit ($179.99) are sold separately. Ice Barrel's store also lists an Ice Barrel 500 Bundle at $5,749.98. Financing from 0% APR is offered.

Where $1,749.99 sits among the 14 cold plunge prices we checked
$50$500$5K

A GOOD FIT FOR

You're over about 6 ft and want an upright ice tub you can add a chiller to later.

  • You're taller than about 6 ft and want to sit upright with water to your neck
  • You want to start plunging with ice and maybe add a chiller later
  • An indoor or outdoor spot with no spare circuit, since the barrel alone needs no power
  • You want built-in steps and a seat to get in and out

THINK TWICE IF

  • You want cold water on demand without buying and adding ice
  • You want a tub you can move around easily: Ice Barrel's FAQ calls it more of a permanent setup
  • You want the option to return it without a 30% fee
  • A deck or upper floor you haven't checked can carry 94 gallons of water plus the barrel
What still needs checking
  • The weight when full
  • How much ice a session takes, and how long the water stays cold
  • What the FAQ's "around 59 degrees" assumes about the room and starting water
  • What warranty shipping and handling costs
  • Whether a pre-filter is included, since the 500's page doesn't list one

Does the Ice Barrel 500 have a lifetime warranty?

Not quite. The product page says limited lifetime, but Ice Barrel’s warranty page says that warranty is limited to 3 years13. It covers material defects, and you pay any shipping and handling on a repair or replacement3.

How cold does the Ice Barrel 500 stay without a chiller?

Ice Barrel doesn’t give a tested figure. Its FAQ says the R-16 insulation often holds water around 59 degrees without a chiller, but it doesn’t state the room temperature, how much ice or how long1.

For comparison, the trials in a 2025 review used water from 7 to 15°C, about 45 to 59°F7.

What’s the difference between the Ice Barrel 500 and 300?

The 500 is the bigger tub, for taller people. It holds 94 gallons and fits up to 6 ft 9 in, with a built-in seat and steps1. Ice Barrel points people who find its standard barrel too tight to the 500, and calls the 300 lighter and easier to move1. Ice Barrel’s store lists the 500 at $1,749.99 and the 300 at $1,149.996.

The practical details.

Specifications for Ice Barrel 500
Exact variantBarrel with lid and cover, no chiller (94 gallons)
Capacity94 gallons (356 liters)
Size and weightW 30.7 in x H 42.1 in x L 57.6 in. 104 lb empty. No filled weight given
FitUp to 6 ft 9 in, sitting upright on a built-in seat, with built-in steps to get in and out
CoolingNo chiller included. Cool it with ice, or add a chiller through the 3/4 in NPT ports (14 TPI)
InsulationR-16 polyurethane foam in the barrel and lid. The FAQ says it often holds around 59 degrees without a chiller, with no conditions or time given
IncludedBarrel, lid and a UV- and water-resistant cover
Add-onsIce Barrel Chiller $3,999.99, water stabilizer $59.99, maintenance kit $179.99 and a replacement 500 cover $99.99
ShippingFreight to the contiguous US for $300, arriving 7 to 13 days after you order. The page also says shipping is calculated at checkout
WarrantySold as limited lifetime. The warranty page says it's limited to 3 years
Returns30 days from delivery, minus a 30% restocking fee. Original shipping isn't refunded
DimensionsIce Barrel lists it at W 30.7 in x H 42.1 in x L 57.6 in. It holds 94 gallons (356 liters) and weighs 104 lb empty. Ice Barrel doesn't give a filled weight. It fits people up to 6 ft 9 in, sitting upright on a built-in seat. Ice Barrel says it still fits through standard doors.
MaterialsMade in the USA from recycled, BPA-free LLDPE plastic with a UV formula. Polyurethane foam insulation fills the barrel and lid, and Ice Barrel rates it at R-16. Ice Barrel says the plastic fades in direct sunlight, and its warranty doesn't cover fading.

Before you buy

InstallationNo chiller is included, so the barrel needs no outlet, circuit or plumbing

No chiller is included, so the barrel needs no outlet, circuit or plumbing. You assemble the drain spout yourself, and the wrenches shown in the replacement parts kit aren't included. Ice Barrel says to set it on an even surface that can hold it full. It ships in 2 to 3 business days and should arrive 7 to 13 days after you order. Barrels come boxed by freight, and the carrier leaves them at your garage when possible. Report any visible shipping damage within three days of delivery. At 104 lb empty, Ice Barrel's FAQ calls it more of a permanent setup than the lighter 300, though its feature list calls it movable.

WarrantyLimited lifetime, capped at 3 years by Ice Barrel's own warranty page

Limited lifetime, capped at 3 years by Ice Barrel's own warranty page. It covers material defects, such as a broken valve, as long as you use the barrel as intended and maintain it. Ice Barrel repairs or replaces the barrel free, but you pay any shipping and handling. Cosmetic wear and fading, weather damage including freezing, improper installation, relocation, misuse and unauthorized changes aren't covered. Neither is delamination (bubbling) after the first year, or damage to a deck or patio under the barrel. It covers only the original buyer and non-commercial use.

Returns30 days from delivery, minus a 30% restocking fee that also covers return shipping

30 days from delivery, minus a 30% restocking fee that also covers return shipping. Original shipping isn't refunded, and the barrel must be in its original condition and packaging or it won't be accepted. The policy's return steps say to request a return label within 30 days of the order date, which is shorter than 30 days from delivery. Someone has to be there for the pickup. Refunds come 1 to 2 weeks after Ice Barrel accepts the return. Canceling before the order ships costs 4%.

More about this assessment

The Ice Barrel 500 is Ice Barrel's larger insulated tub, which you fill with water and chill with ice. It holds 94 gallons, has a built-in seat and steps, and Ice Barrel says it fits people up to 6 ft 9 in. It's $1,749.99, plus a $300 shipping rate to the contiguous US. It needs no outlet, and it has ports for adding a chiller later. The warranty is sold as limited lifetime, but the warranty page caps it at 3 years. Returns carry a 30% fee.

Strengths on paper

  • Fits people up to 6 ft 9 in, with a built-in seat and steps
  • Holds 94 gallons (356 liters)
  • No outlet, circuit or plumbing needed
  • R-16 foam insulation in the barrel and lid
  • Chiller ports for adding a chiller later
  • Made in the USA from recycled, BPA-free plastic

Limitations

  • Sold as a lifetime warranty, but the warranty page caps it at 3 years
  • Returns cost 30% of the price, and the $300 shipping isn't refunded
  • The return label must be requested within 30 days of the order date, not delivery
  • Cold water depends on ice, and Ice Barrel doesn't say how much
  • No filled weight is given for a tub that holds 94 gallons
  • Warranty repairs and replacements don't include shipping and handling
  • The FAQ's warranty answer names the Ice Barrel 300, not the 500

Running costs.

PLAN YOUR OWNERSHIP COSTS

What will it cost to own?

Change the assumptions to fit your use. Leave an unknown cost blank. Add water, subscriptions, cleaning, shipping and taxes if they apply. Use average operating power, not the maximum rating.

3-year known subtotal

$1,749.99

Incomplete: annual consumables. This is not the full ownership cost.

Energy component: $0.00

Purchase + installation + years × (annual consumables + annual other) + watts/1000 × hours/day × 365 × years × $/kWh. Annualized allowances, not an exact replacement schedule. Excludes taxes, shipping, finance and resale unless entered.
Replacement parts & cost assumptions

Recorded recurring parts and refills:

  • Ice: price not stated. Without a chiller, the water gets cold from ice. Ice Barrel doesn't say how much ice a fill takes, so ice isn't priced.
  • Water stabilizer and maintenance kit: price not stated. The stabilizer is $59.99, and the $179.99 kit holds cleaning soap, stabilizer, a brush and a net. Ice Barrel gives no schedule for either, so neither is annualized.
  • Purchase is the $1,749.99 list price on Oct 20, 2026, with no sale. It leaves out shipping. The page lists a $300 rate to the contiguous US, which would make it $2,049.99 before tax, but the final cost is calculated at checkout.
  • Installation is $0. Without a chiller, the barrel needs no outlet, circuit or plumbing. You assemble the drain spout yourself.
  • Watts and hours are 0 because the barrel alone draws no power. A chiller would change that.
  • Annual consumables are unknown. Ice is the main running cost without a chiller, and Ice Barrel gives no quantity. The stabilizer and maintenance kit have prices but no schedule, so nothing is annualized.
  • Other yearly costs are $0. The page lists no app, subscription or membership for the barrel.

Evidence & sources.

Do cold plunges work? Our evidence review grades the research as Mixed. That grade is about the claim, not about this product.

  • Manufacturer claimThe price, shipping rate, capacity, dimensions, weight, fit, insulation rating, inclusions and chiller ports come from Ice Barrel's product page and store listing126 It's Ice Barrel's own information, not independent testing of temperature holding, fit or durability.
  • Manufacturer claimIce Barrel's warranty page says the limited lifetime warranty is limited to 3 years, and its refund policy charges a 30% restocking fee34 The product page shows "Lifetime Warranty" and "Limited lifetime warranty" without the 3-year cap. Read both policies before you buy.
  • Manufacturer claimThe FAQ says many people use daily cold plunges to help circulation, muscle recovery and joint tension, and to encourage the body's production of white blood cells1 These are Ice Barrel's claims, and the page cites no study for them. The barrel alone lists no power draw, and no electrical listing is named.
  • Published studyA 2025 review of 11 randomized trials with 3,177 healthy adults in all used water from 7 to 15°C (about 45 to 59°F) for 30 seconds to 2 hours7 The review wasn't about this product. One cold-shower trial supplied 3,018 of the 3,177 people, and people with chronic illness were excluded. Stress was lower 12 hours after immersion, and inflammation markers rose in the first hour. The sleep and quality-of-life findings rest on single studies.
Sources (7)
  1. Large Cold Plunge Tub Ice Barrel · manufacturer · checked Oct 20, 2026
  2. Ice Barrel 500 store listing Ice Barrel · manufacturer · price read from the store’s product data · checked Oct 20, 2026
  3. Ice Barrel Product Warranty Ice Barrel · manufacturer · checked Oct 20, 2026
  4. Return and Cancellation Policy Ice Barrel · manufacturer · checked Oct 20, 2026
  5. Shipping and delivery Ice Barrel · manufacturer · checked Oct 20, 2026
  6. Ice Barrel online store product list Ice Barrel · manufacturer · data file · checked Oct 20, 2026
  7. Effects of cold-water immersion on health and wellbeing: A systematic review and meta-analysis PLOS ONE · study · checked Oct 20, 2026
Ice Barrel 300, manufacturer product image
Photo: Ice Barrel

Best cold plunge without a chiller

Ice Barrel 300

Compact insulated 77-gallon ice tub, chiller-ready but sold without one

$1,149.99

US price, checked

About this review. The facts on this page come from manufacturer pages and published studies, checked Oct 20, 2026. The sources are listed above.

Our editorial policy →