The three side by side
With the Ice Barrel you’ll be buying ice, and Ice Barrel doesn’t say how much1. Sun Home says the Horizontal runs from 32°F to 104°F, but it takes back only an unopened tub, minus 25% and shipping26. Plunge’s FAQ offers a full refund on the Air within 30 days, though some conditions may apply8. Neither chilled-tub maker publishes power draw2458.
Prices are US prices on each maker’s product page or online store, before tax, checked on October 13, 2026. Every figure is the maker’s own. Where a cell says something isn’t stated, we didn’t find it on the pages checked. Plunge Air is the Cold Only version.
| Question | Ice Barrel 300 | Sun Home Cold Plunge Horizontal | Plunge Air (Cold Only) |
|---|---|---|---|
| US price | $1,149.99, no sale shown. The listed shipping rate to the contiguous US is $300, which would make it $1,449.99 before tax. The final shipping cost is set at checkout1 | $4,099 regular price, no sale. Free shipping23 | $5,490 list, with no sale or crossed-out price shown. Plunge says most orders ship free89 |
| How it gets cold | No chiller, so you cool it with ice. It has 3/4 in NPT ports for adding a chiller later, but the page doesn’t price one1 | Separate 1 HP chiller that cools and heats34 | Separate 1/2 HP chiller8 |
| Temperature | Depends on the ice. Ice Barrel doesn’t say how long the water stays cold1 | 32°F to 104°F. The chiller needs ambient air above 40°F to run25 | Down to 39°F. Heat is a separate version: $5,990 in Plunge’s store listing, or +$400 on the page’s spec card89 |
| Cooling rate | No chiller1 | Not stated4 | 4–6°F an hour with the standard chiller or 8–10°F with the Pro chiller. Plunge doesn’t say which ships with Cold Only8 |
| Shape and size | Barrel, 35.5 in wide and 30.5 in high1 | Lie-down inflatable tub, 77.2 × 27.6 × 24.4 in. Separate chiller, 21.2 × 15.7 × 21.7 in24 | Inflatable drop-stitch tub, 61 × 32 × 28 in. The standard chiller is 23 × 14 × 18 in, and the Pro chiller 28 × 16 × 17.5 in8 |
| Water capacity | 77 gallons1 | 128 gallons on the spec card, spec sheet and manual. The store description says 80 to 9025 | 105 gallons8 |
| Weight | 61 lb empty, 700 lb full1 | Tub 15.5 lb and chiller 88 lb, empty. Filled weight not stated, and the manual asks for a surface that holds 3,000 lb245 | 28 lb without water, 903.7 lb with water. Chiller weight not stated8 |
| Fit | Most people up to 6 ft. Above that, your knees may sit above the waterline1 | About 69 in long inside. The spec card says 1 person, while the store variant is named 2-Person24 | Fit height not stated8 |
| Power | None1 | Standard NEMA 5-15 plug, rated 120 V and 11 A, on a dedicated 15 A GFCI circuit. The manual says a licensed electrician should do any electrical work245 | A dedicated 120 V, 15 A circuit in the electrical requirements. The FAQ says a standard 110 V outlet works and recommends a dedicated circuit. Built-in 15 ft cord8 |
| Setup | Fill it with a hose. Ice Barrel says no plumbing experience is needed. You assemble the drain spout, and wrenches aren’t included1 | Inflate to 10–12 PSI with the included pump, connect the chiller hoses and plug in. No plumbing. Let the chiller stand upright and unplugged for 4 hours first235 | Inflate with the included pump, connect two hoses, fill and plug in. Plunge gives 15 or 20 minutes8 |
| Water care | Pre-filter included. Water stabilizer and maintenance kit sold separately, not priced on the page1 | 20-micron paper filter, metal inlet screen and ozone. Full water change every 2–3 weeks. Filters are $49 for a 3-pack, changed every 2–4 weeks2510 | 20-micron filter plus ozone. Starter kit described as a 6-month supply. Refill price not stated8 |
| Controls | None on the barrel itself1 | Sun Home or Tuya app over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi24 | Free Plunge app over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi8 |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime warranty on material defects1 | 1 year. The warranty page and FAQ cover labor and shipping for the first 90 days, while the manual says parts only. Freeze damage isn’t covered357 | 90 days on the tub and 1 year on the chiller, active only while the unit stays connected to Wi-Fi and the app8 |
| Returns | 30 days. The page doesn’t state a restocking fee or who pays return freight1 | 30 days from delivery, unused and unopened only. You pay a 25% restocking fee plus shipping both ways. On $4,099, the fee alone is $1,024.756 | 30 days for a full refund, per the FAQ. Another answer says some conditions may apply8 |
| Power draw | None without a chiller1 | Not stated. The 11 A rating works out to about 1,320 W, but that’s a rating, not an average5 | Not stated8 |
| Three-year cost, known items only | $1,449.99 if shipping comes to the listed $300. Ice and water care unknown1 | $5,373.01, counting filters at $424.67 a year with a change every 2 weeks. Any electrician’s work and electricity unknown2310 | $5,490. The app is free, but any electrician’s work, refills after the starter kit and electricity are unknown8 |
Which one fits which need
These are picks for different needs, not a ranking. The first question is whether you want to buy ice or pay for a chiller. If you want a chiller, the next is whether you’d rather have heat and the lower price, or easier returns.
- Trying it for the least money: Ice Barrel 300. $1,149.99 plus $300 shipping buys a 77-gallon insulated barrel with a lid and cover, and it needs no outlet or plumbing1. It has ports for adding a chiller later, and the barrel has a limited lifetime warranty1. The catch: cold water depends on ice, and Ice Barrel doesn’t say how much a fill takes. It fits most people only up to 6 ft1.
- The cheapest tub that keeps itself cold: Sun Home Cold Plunge Horizontal. $4,099 with free shipping buys a lie-down inflatable tub and a 1 HP chiller that Sun Home says runs from 32°F to 104°F23. The catch: the warranty is one year, and a return is only for an unopened tub, minus 25% and shipping both ways67. It needs a dedicated 15 A GFCI circuit, and the manual calls for a full water change every 2 to 3 weeks5.
- Plunge’s app and an easier return: Plunge Air. $5,490 buys a 105-gallon inflatable tub and a 1/2 HP chiller that Plunge says reaches 39°F89. Plunge’s FAQ says you can return it within 30 days for a full refund8. The catch: it doesn’t heat in this version, and the tub is covered for 90 days, only while it stays connected to the app8.
Is a chiller worth the extra cost?
With Ice Barrel’s listed $300 shipping, the Sun Home Horizontal costs $2,649.01 more delivered12. For that, you stop buying ice, and the water holds a set temperature. Sun Home says it also heats to 104°F2. In return, you need a dedicated 15 A GFCI circuit, filter changes and a full water change every 2 to 3 weeks5.
Plunge Air costs $1,391 more than the Sun Home Horizontal28. It doesn’t buy colder water: Plunge gives a 39°F low against Sun Home’s 32°F28. What it does buy is a return you can make after trying the tub, though Plunge says some conditions may apply68. Plunge publishes cooling rates for two chillers but doesn’t say which ships with Cold Only. So the stated rate is either 4 to 6°F or 8 to 10°F an hour8.
Running costs can’t be compared yet. Neither Sun Home nor Plunge publishes an average power draw2458. Sun Home’s filters come to about $425 a year if you change one every 2 weeks, but Plunge gives no refill price810. Ice Barrel doesn’t say how much ice a fill takes1.
What the pages don’t settle
Sun Home’s page description calls the Horizontal’s cooling “3x faster than competitors at this price point.” It gives no cooling rate or test23. Plunge’s page advertises 8 proven benefits of cold plunging, such as faster recovery and better sleep, without citing studies8. Those benefits are claims about cold exposure in general, not evidence about any of these tubs.
Both chilled-tub makers give conflicting figures. Sun Home gives the Horizontal 128 gallons in three places and 80 to 90 in the store description25. Plunge’s page contradicts itself on the Air’s voltage, setup time, tub material, warranty length and heater price89. Confirm those details with the maker before you order.
Neither Sun Home nor Plunge cites an electrical safety listing such as ETL, UL or CSA on the pages checked2458. That doesn’t prove none exists. The Ice Barrel has no electrical parts without a chiller1. Its page calls it HSA/FSA eligible but doesn’t explain the basis, so check with your plan before counting on it1.
Sources
- Ice Barrel 300 official product page Ice Barrel · manufacturer
- Cold Plunge Horizontal official product page Sun Home Saunas · manufacturer
- Sun Home Cold Plunge Horizontal store listing (variant, price and description) Sun Home Saunas · manufacturer · data file
- Sun Home Cold Plunge Horizontal spec sheet (PDF, September 2026) Sun Home Saunas, 2026 · manufacturer
- Sun Home Cold Plunge owner's manual (PDF, September 2026) Sun Home Saunas, 2026 · manufacturer
- Warranty & Returns FAQ Sun Home Saunas · manufacturer
- Warranty Information Sun Home Saunas · manufacturer
- Plunge Air official product page Plunge · manufacturer
- Plunge Air listing on Plunge's store (versions and prices) Plunge · manufacturer · data file
- Cold Plunge Filter (3-pack) store listing (price, compatibility and change interval) Sun Home Saunas · manufacturer · data file
How this was written. Written from the sources listed above, checked . It is general information, not medical advice. Talk to a clinician before acting on anything here if you have a health condition or take medication.
Our editorial policy →