PRODUCT REVIEWS & BUYING GUIDES
US EDITION · USD

Our cheapest chilled pick

Sun HomeCold Plunge Horizontal

Inflatable lie-down tub with a 1 HP chiller that cools and heats, 32 to 104°F

Source-based analysis, not hands-on testing. Our method

Cofounder of Superhuman Chambers · About the author. General information, not medical advice. No independent clinical review is claimed.

The verdict

It's an inflatable lie-down tub with a chiller that Sun Home says cools to 32°F and heats to 104°F. It costs $4,099 and uses a standard plug, as long as the outlet sits on its own 15 A GFCI circuit. The catch is a one-year warranty and no published average power draw.

The trade-off

The warranty lasts only one year, and the manual asks you to drain and refill the tub every 2 to 3 weeks.

Sun Home Cold Plunge Horizontal, manufacturer product image
Photo: Sun Home.Source ↗

Model reviewed: Horizontal (2-Person), SKU POLAR623: inflatable lie-down tub with a 1 HP chiller that cools and heats

$4,099

US price, checked

Check price at Sun Home

No affiliate commission on this link. Check the exact variant before buying.

About this price

Regular price. On Oct 13, 2026, Sun Home's online store priced Horizontal (2-Person), SKU POLAR623, at $4,099 with no crossed-out regular price. The product page showed "Regular price $4,099" with no sale. It also showed a free-shipping badge and HSA/FSA and monthly payment options. The price is before tax.

A GOOD FIT FOR

You want cold plunges and warm soaks from one portable tub at $4,099, and you can give it a dedicated 15 A GFCI circuit.

  • You want cold plunges and warm soaks from one tub, with a 32–104°F range
  • You'd rather lie back than sit upright, in a tub about 69 in long inside
  • You may move or store it: the empty tub weighs 15.5 lb and needs no plumbing, though the chiller is 88 lb
  • A spot with a dedicated 15 A GFCI circuit and 3 ft of clear space around the chiller fan

THINK TWICE IF

  • Outdoor use through a cold winter, since the chiller needs air above 40°F and freeze damage isn't covered
  • Anyone who wants multi-year coverage, since the warranty is one year
  • A floor or deck that can't carry the 3,000 lb the manual asks for
  • A room without a free dedicated circuit near the tub
What still needs checking
  • Chiller wattage, average power draw and daily run time
  • Cooling and heating rate
  • Filled weight
  • Whether the real water volume is 128 gallons or 80–90 gallons
  • Whether the tub is meant for one person or two
  • The tub's fabric and construction
  • Whether the tub or chiller carries an electrical safety listing such as ETL, UL or CSA
  • Refrigerant type
  • Whether the app carries a fee
  • Price of the extended warranty

The practical details.

Specifications for Sun Home Cold Plunge Horizontal
Exact variantHorizontal (2-Person), SKU POLAR623: inflatable lie-down tub with a 1 HP chiller that cools and heats
Temperature range32–104°F, cooling and heating. The chiller needs ambient air above 40°F to run
Chiller1 HP, 21.2 × 15.7 × 21.7 in, 88 lb, 55–60 dB. Cooling rate not stated
ElectricalRated 120 V, 11 A with a NEMA 5-15P plug, on a dedicated 15 A GFCI circuit. Wattage not stated
Water capacity128 gallons on the spec card, spec sheet and manual. The store description says 80–90 gallons
Tub size and weight77.2 × 27.6 × 24.4 in outside, 15.5 lb empty. Filled weight not stated
Water care20-micron paper filter, metal inlet screen and ozone injection. Full water change every 2–3 weeks
ControlsSun Home or Tuya app over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi for temperature and scheduling, with a child lock
DimensionsThe assembled tub measures 77.2 in long, 27.6 in wide and 24.4 in high. The manual and store description give the outer size as 6.4 × 2.3 × 2.1 ft. The store description puts the inside at 69 × 19.5 in, and the spec sheet at 69.3 × 19.7 in. The chiller is a separate box, 21.2 × 15.7 × 21.7 in. Empty, the tub weighs 15.5 lb and the chiller 88 lb. The spec card, spec sheet and manual list 128 gallons (485 L in the manual). The store description says 80 to 90 gallons instead. Sun Home doesn't explain the gap. The manual's fill line is 8 in below the top. Sun Home doesn't give a filled weight.
MaterialsSun Home describes a puncture-resistant inflatable tub with an insulated cover and lid. It doesn't name the tub's fabric or construction, or the cover's material. The box also includes an air pump, inlet and outlet hoses with gaskets, a metal inlet screen, a spare 20-micron paper filter, a filter wrench, a repair kit and a carrying case.

Before you buy

InstallationNo plumbing is needed, Sun Home says

No plumbing is needed, Sun Home says. The tub inflates to 10 to 12 PSI with the included air pump, and the chiller connects with the included inlet and outlet hoses. The chiller plugs into a standard NEMA 5-15 outlet. That outlet must sit on a dedicated 15 A GFCI circuit. The manual says a licensed electrician should do all electrical work, and the wiring must follow local code. It also asks for a flat surface that can support 3,000 lb. Keep the chiller fan 3 ft from the tub and from walls. Keep the plunge at least 5 ft from other appliances. Leave 36 in clear in front of and behind the tub. Let the chiller stand upright and unplugged for 4 hours before first use. Sun Home rates the tub for indoor and outdoor use, but the chiller needs ambient air above 40°F to run.

WarrantySun Home gives the Cold Plunge a 1-year residential limited warranty…

Sun Home gives the Cold Plunge a 1-year residential limited warranty against manufacturing defects. It starts at purchase or delivery, whichever is later, and covers the original buyer only. The warranty page and help-center FAQ cover labor and shipping for the first 90 days from delivery. After that, you pay both. The owner's manual reads differently: it says parts only, no labor, with freight at your cost. The manual also says commercial use voids the warranty, and it excludes freezing and improper water chemistry. Sun Home replaces defective parts at its discretion, and wear and tear and abuse aren't covered. The product page shows a "1+ Year Warranty" badge and a site-wide "Limited Lifetime Warranty" banner for most models. The warranty page lists one year for the Sun Home Cold Plunge and the Cold Plunge Pro and doesn't name the Horizontal separately. Extended warranties are sold separately, and the warranty page gives no price.

ReturnsYou can return it within 30 days of delivery only if it's unused…

You can return it within 30 days of delivery only if it's unused and still in its original, unopened packaging. Sun Home won't take back an uncrated, assembled or used cold plunge. The refund loses a 25% restocking fee plus shipping both ways, even on a free-shipping order. Returns need approval through Sun Home's returns portal first. Refunds are issued within 21 days of receiving the return, after inspection. Every cancellation costs 3% per product. You can cancel an in-stock order within 24 hours. After that, a 25% restocking fee applies, and you may also pay roundtrip shipping. On a $4,099 tub, the restocking fee alone is $1,024.75.

More about this assessment

The Cold Plunge Horizontal is a $4,099 inflatable lie-down tub with a separate 1 HP chiller. Sun Home says it cools to 32°F and heats to 104°F. It plugs into a standard outlet, but that outlet needs a dedicated 15 A GFCI circuit. Filters cost about $425 a year if you change one every 2 weeks. Sun Home doesn't publish average power draw, so electricity costs are unknown. The catch is a one-year warranty, and an opened tub can't be returned.

Strengths on paper

  • Cools and heats across 32–104°F from a 1 HP chiller
  • No plumbing: the tub inflates with the included pump and the chiller connects with hoses
  • Plugs into a standard NEMA 5-15 outlet
  • Ozone injection plus a 20-micron paper filter and a metal inlet screen
  • Comes with an insulated cover, air pump, spare filter, repair kit and carrying case
  • Free shipping at the $4,099 regular price

Limitations

  • One-year warranty, with labor and shipping covered only for the first 90 days
  • The owner's manual says parts only, no labor and freight at your cost, which conflicts with Sun Home's warranty pages
  • Commercial use voids the warranty, and freeze damage isn't covered
  • Water capacity is given as 128 gallons in three places and 80–90 gallons in the store description
  • The spec card says 1 person, while the store variant is named 2-Person
  • No published wattage, average draw or cooling rate, so electricity costs are unknown
  • Filters cost about $425 a year if you change one every 2 weeks
  • The manual calls for a full water change every 2–3 weeks
  • A return costs a 25% restocking fee plus shipping both ways, and an opened tub can't be returned

What it costs to own.

Adjust the assumptions for your use. Missing costs stay unknown.

PLAN YOUR OWNERSHIP COSTS

What will it cost to own?

Change the assumptions to fit your use. Leave an unknown cost blank. Add water, subscriptions, cleaning, shipping and taxes if they apply. Use average operating power, not the maximum rating.

3-year known subtotal

$5,373.01

Incomplete: installation, other annual costs, energy use. This is not the full ownership cost.

Energy component: Unknown

Purchase + installation + years × (annual consumables + annual other) + watts/1000 × hours/day × 365 × years × $/kWh. Annualized allowances, not an exact replacement schedule. Excludes taxes, shipping, finance and resale unless entered.
Replacement parts & cost assumptions

Recorded recurring parts and refills:

  • Cold Plunge Filter 3-pack (10 × 2.5 in, 20-micron, SKU FILTER25): $49 every 1.4 months. One $49 pack holds three 20-micron sediment filters, about $16.33 each. Sun Home's filter page lists the Horizontal as compatible and says to replace filters every 2 to 4 weeks, depending on use and water conditions. The manual ties the interval to use. It says every 2 weeks above 5 plunges a week, monthly at 3 to 5, and every 2 months below that. Other passages in the manual say every 1 to 3 weeks or every 2 to 4 weeks. The spec sheet says once or twice a month. Change it sooner if flow drops below 17 L/min. At every 2 weeks, a pack lasts about 6 weeks. One spare filter is in the box.
  • Purchase is the $4,099 regular price for Horizontal (2-Person), SKU POLAR623. It was checked on Oct 13, 2026 with no sale, and shipping was listed as free.
  • Installation is unknown. The tub needs a dedicated 15 A GFCI circuit, and the manual says a licensed electrician should do any wiring. Sun Home doesn't price adding a circuit.
  • Filters are $49 for a 3-pack, or about $16.33 each. Sun Home's filter page says to change them every 2 to 4 weeks. The estimate assumes daily plunging and a change every 2 weeks, which is also the manual's schedule above 5 plunges a week. That's 26 filters, or $49 × 26 ÷ 3 = $424.67 a year. At every 4 weeks, it's 13 filters and about $212.33. The spare filter in the box isn't counted.
  • Energy isn't estimated. The manual rates the chiller at 120 V and 11 A, about 1,320 W, but that's a rating, not an average. Sun Home gives no average draw or daily run time, and the store description says it's built for continuous operation.
  • The manual calls for draining and refilling every 2 to 3 weeks, so water use is a real but unpriced cost.
  • Other yearly costs are left unknown. The app is listed without a fee, but Sun Home doesn't say it's free.

Evidence & sources.

Do cold plunges work? Our evidence review grades the research as Mixed. That grade is about the claim, not about this product.

  • Manufacturer claimPrice, filter price, temperature range, chiller rating, electrical needs, dimensions, weights, included items, setup rules, warranty and return terms all come from Sun Home. The sources are its product page, store listing, spec sheet, owner's manual, warranty page, help-center FAQ and filter 3-pack page.17 None of it is independent testing. The documents disagree on water capacity (128 or 80–90 gallons), on how many people fit (1 Person or 2-Person) and on whether warranty labor is covered.
  • Manufacturer claimThe product page's meta description calls the chiller's cooling "3x faster than competitors at this price point." The store description says it reaches plunge temperature "in hours, not days" and credits a "three times faster" line to Billboard Magazine.12 Sun Home gives no cooling rate, test method or comparison data, so neither claim can be checked.
  • Manufacturer claimSun Home names no electrical safety listing (ETL, UL or CSA), FCC certification, regulatory clearance or independent test for the tub or chiller.134 A listing missing from the product page, spec sheet and manual doesn't prove none exists. Certifier databases, independent reviews and studies of cold-water immersion weren't checked for this review.
  • Manufacturer claimThe owner's manual says people with obesity, a history of heart disease, or high or low blood pressure, among other conditions, should check with a doctor first. So should anyone pregnant or taking medication. It warns that prolonged immersion in cold water may cause hypothermia, and it tells you to avoid alcohol, drugs or medication before or during use.14 These are safety precautions, not evidence of benefit. Sun Home's product page links to its own content on the benefits of heat and cold exposure, which this review doesn't assess.
Sources (7)
  1. Cold Plunge Horizontal Sun Home Saunas · manufacturer · checked Oct 13, 2026
  2. Sun Home Cold Plunge Horizontal store listing (variant, price and description) Sun Home Saunas · manufacturer · data file · checked Oct 13, 2026
  3. Sun Home Cold Plunge Horizontal spec sheet (PDF, September 2026) Sun Home Saunas · manufacturer · checked Oct 13, 2026
  4. Sun Home Cold Plunge owner's manual (PDF, September 2026) Sun Home Saunas · manufacturer · checked Oct 13, 2026
  5. Warranty & Returns FAQ Sun Home Saunas · manufacturer · checked Oct 13, 2026
  6. Warranty Information Sun Home Saunas · manufacturer · checked Oct 13, 2026
  7. Cold Plunge Filter (3-pack) - 10" x 2.5" store listing (price, compatibility and change interval) Sun Home Saunas · manufacturer · data file · checked Oct 13, 2026

About this review. The facts on this page come from manufacturer pages, checked Oct 13, 2026. The sources are listed above.

Our editorial policy →