PRODUCT REVIEWS & BUYING GUIDES
US EDITION · USD

Chilled plunge tub

Sun HomeCold Plunge Pro

Stainless hard-shell tub with a 1 HP chiller that sets as low as 28°F

Source-based analysis, not hands-on testing. Our method

Cofounder of Superhuman Chambers · About the author. General information, not medical advice. No independent clinical review is claimed.

The verdict

The Cold Plunge Pro is a 150-gallon stainless tub with a chiller that Sun Home says sets as low as 28°F. It plugs into a standard outlet on its own 15 A GFCI circuit and fills with a hose. The catch is a one-year warranty on a $14,599 tub.

The trade-off

At $14,599, you get one year of coverage, and labor and shipping are covered only for the first 90 days.

Sun Home Cold Plunge Pro, manufacturer product image
Photo: Sun Home.Source ↗

Model reviewed: Cold Plunge Pro (base model, SKU PLUNGEPROS): 150-gallon hard-shell tub with a 316 stainless basin, not the Pro Apex or Pro Titan

$14,599

US price, checked

Check price at Sun Home

No affiliate commission on this link. Check the exact variant before buying.

About this price

Regular price. On Oct 13, 2026, Sun Home's online store listed the Cold Plunge Pro (SKU PLUNGEPROS, its only version) at $14,599 with no crossed-out regular price. The product page showed a regular price of $14,599 with no sale. It also showed a free-shipping badge and monthly payment and HSA/FSA options. The Pro Apex and Pro Titan are separate products and aren't priced here. The price is before tax.

A GOOD FIT FOR

You want very cold plunges in a stainless hard-shell tub without plumbing, and you can give it a dedicated 15 A GFCI circuit.

  • You want very cold water, with a set point as low as 28°F
  • You want a stainless basin and a hard insulated shell instead of an inflatable tub
  • A spot with a dedicated 15 A GFCI circuit and about 9.5 × 5 ft of space
  • You'd rather skip plumbing and fill it with a hose

THINK TWICE IF

  • Warm soaks, since Sun Home lists no heating and the set range tops out at 70°F
  • Outdoor use through a freezing winter
  • A floor or deck that can't carry 400 lb of tub plus about 1,250 lb of water
  • You might change your mind, since an opened tub can't be returned and an unopened one costs 25% plus shipping
  • You want more than one year of warranty coverage
What still needs checking
  • Average power draw and daily run time
  • Filled weight
  • Water-change interval
  • Whether delivery includes placement or is curbside
  • Shell and insulation materials
  • Whether the tub or chiller carries an electrical safety listing such as ETL, UL or CSA
  • Whether the app carries a fee
  • Price of the extended warranty
  • Commercial warranty terms

The practical details.

Specifications for Sun Home Cold Plunge Pro
Exact variantCold Plunge Pro (base model, SKU PLUNGEPROS): 150-gallon hard-shell tub with a 316 stainless basin, not the Pro Apex or Pro Titan
Temperature range28–70°F set range, about 8 hours to cool to 38°F. Sun Home says it can make floating ice
Chiller1 HP, Secop SCE21CNLX compressor with 390 g of R290 refrigerant, 55–60 dB
ElectricalRated 120 V, 12 A with a NEMA 5-15P plug on a dedicated 15 A GFCI circuit. Wattage not stated
Size and capacity150 gallons. 78.7 × 33.5 × 34.2 in outside, 47.4 × 28.7 × 27.5 in inside
Weight400 lb dry. Filled weight not stated
Water careOzone, UV and dual-pump circulation through a 10 × 2.5 in, 20-micron filter
ControlsTouchscreen panel, plus the Sun Home app over Wi-Fi for temperature, lights, the Polar Jet and scheduling
DimensionsThe assembled tub measures 78.7 × 33.5 × 34.2 in (length, width, height). Inside, the spec sheet gives 47.4 × 28.7 in, with 27.5 in of depth. It holds 150 gallons and weighs 400 lb dry. Sun Home doesn't give a filled weight, but 150 gallons of water alone weighs about 1,250 lb. It ships in an 84 × 37 × 42 in crate that weighs 636 lb. The spec card rates it for one person.
MaterialsThe basin is 316-grade stainless steel inside a hard shell with injected insulation. Sun Home calls it marine-grade construction. An insulated lid, a headrest and stair mats are included. It also has a touchscreen panel and interior lights with a color remote. Sun Home doesn't name the shell material or the insulation type on the pages reviewed.

Before you buy

InstallationThere's no plumbing: you fill it with a hose

There's no plumbing: you fill it with a hose. It's rated 120 V and 12 A. The 8 ft cord can't be removed and plugs into a standard NEMA 5-15 outlet. That outlet must sit on a dedicated 15 A GFCI circuit, and Sun Home says no hardwiring is needed. The spec sheet asks for 3 ft of clearance at the vent end and 1 ft on each side. The head end can sit against a wall, and the whole setup needs about 9.5 × 5 ft. It's rated for indoor and outdoor use on a surface that can carry the filled tub. Sun Home says not to run it outdoors below freezing or leave it out through freezing weather. The first cool-down takes several hours, and the lid shortens it.

WarrantySun Home gives the Cold Plunge Pro a 1-year residential limited warranty…

Sun Home gives the Cold Plunge Pro a 1-year residential limited warranty against manufacturing defects. It covers the original buyer only. It starts at purchase or delivery, whichever is later, as long as delivery is within six months of purchase. Labor and shipping are covered for the first 90 days from delivery. After that, you pay both, and Sun Home chooses whether to repair or replace. Wear and tear, abuse, improper installation, electrical problems and use outside the published guidelines aren't covered. The product page shows a "1+ Year Warranty" badge and a site-wide "Limited Lifetime Warranty On Most Models" banner. That lifetime coverage is for cabinetry and heaters on some saunas, and the warranty page lists the Pro at one year. Extended warranties are sold separately, but no price is given. Commercial buyers get separate terms at the point of sale.

ReturnsYou can return it within 30 days of delivery only if it's unused…

You can return it within 30 days of delivery only if it's unused and still in its original, unopened packaging. Sun Home won't take back an uncrated, assembled or used cold plunge. It keeps a 25% restocking fee and charges shipping both ways, even on a free-shipping order. Returns need approval through Sun Home's returns portal first. Refunds are issued within 21 days of receiving the return, after inspection. Every cancellation costs 3% per product, even within 24 hours of ordering. After 24 hours, a 25% restocking fee is added, and you may pay roundtrip shipping. On a $14,599 tub, the restocking fee alone is $3,649.75.

More about this assessment

The Cold Plunge Pro is a $14,599 hard-shell tub with a 150-gallon, 316 stainless basin and a 1 HP chiller. Sun Home says it sets as low as 28°F and takes about 8 hours to cool to 38°F. It fills with a hose and plugs into a standard outlet on a dedicated 15 A GFCI circuit. Filters cost about $425 a year if you change one every 2 weeks. Sun Home doesn't publish average power draw, so electricity costs are unknown. The catch is a one-year warranty, with labor and shipping covered only for the first 90 days.

Strengths on paper

  • Sets as low as 28°F, by Sun Home's figure
  • 316 stainless basin in an insulated hard shell
  • Ozone, UV and dual-pump filtration
  • Plugs into a standard NEMA 5-15 outlet with no hardwiring
  • Fills with a hose, so no plumbing is needed
  • Replacement filters are $49 for three
  • Insulated lid, headrest and stair mats are included, with free shipping

Limitations

  • $14,599 regular price
  • Needs a dedicated 15 A GFCI circuit
  • No heating listed, and the set range tops out at 70°F
  • About 8 hours to cool to 38°F, by Sun Home's own figure
  • Not for outdoor use in freezing weather
  • No published wattage or average draw, so electricity costs are unknown
  • Filters run about $212 to $425 a year at Sun Home's 2 to 4 week interval
  • One-year warranty, with labor and shipping covered only for the first 90 days
  • A return costs a 25% restocking fee plus shipping both ways, and an opened tub can't be returned

What it costs to own.

Adjust the assumptions for your use. Missing costs stay unknown.

PLAN YOUR OWNERSHIP COSTS

What will it cost to own?

Change the assumptions to fit your use. Leave an unknown cost blank. Add water, subscriptions, cleaning, shipping and taxes if they apply. Use average operating power, not the maximum rating.

3-year known subtotal

$15,873.01

Incomplete: installation, other annual costs, energy use. This is not the full ownership cost.

Energy component: Unknown

Purchase + installation + years × (annual consumables + annual other) + watts/1000 × hours/day × 365 × years × $/kWh. Annualized allowances, not an exact replacement schedule. Excludes taxes, shipping, finance and resale unless entered.
Replacement parts & cost assumptions

Recorded recurring parts and refills:

  • Cold Plunge Filter 3-pack (10 × 2.5 in, 20-micron, SKU FILTER25): $49 every 1.4 months. One $49 pack holds three filters, about $16.33 each. Sun Home's store and filter page say to change the filter every 2 to 4 weeks, depending on use and water conditions. At every 2 weeks, a pack lasts about 6 weeks. The product page says at least monthly, or every 2 weeks with daily use. The filter page lists the Pro as compatible but not the Pro Apex.
  • Purchase is the $14,599 regular price for the base Cold Plunge Pro, SKU PLUNGEPROS, on Oct 13, 2026. There was no sale, and shipping was listed as free.
  • Installation is unknown. The tub needs a dedicated 15 A GFCI circuit, and Sun Home doesn't price adding one. It also doesn't say whether delivery includes placement.
  • Filters are $49 for a 3-pack, or about $16.33 each. Sun Home says to change them every 2 to 4 weeks. The estimate uses every 2 weeks: 26 filters, or $49 × 26 ÷ 3 = $424.67 a year. At every 4 weeks, it's 13 filters and about $212.33.
  • Energy isn't estimated. Sun Home gives no average draw or daily run time. The 12 A, 120 V rating caps draw at roughly 1,440 W.
  • Other yearly costs are left unknown. The app is listed without a fee, but Sun Home doesn't say it's free.

Evidence & sources.

Do cold plunges work? Our evidence review grades the research as Mixed. That grade is about the claim, not about this product.

  • Manufacturer claimPrice, set range, cool-down time, chiller, electrical needs, dimensions, weight, water care, included items, filter price, and warranty and return terms all come from Sun Home. The sources are its product page, store listing, September 2026 spec sheet, filter page, warranty FAQ and warranty page.16 None of it is independent testing of cooling speed, temperature holding, water quality or durability.
  • Manufacturer claimThe store description quotes Business Insider and Forbes praising the tub.2 Sun Home picked these quotes. The original articles weren't reviewed, so they don't count as independent evidence here.
  • Manufacturer claimSun Home names no electrical safety listing (ETL, UL or CSA), regulatory clearance or independent test for the tub or chiller on the product page or spec sheet.13 A chilled tub is consumer equipment, not a regulated medical device. A listing missing from these pages doesn't prove none exists. The owner's manual, certifier databases and studies of cold-water immersion weren't reviewed.
Sources (6)
  1. Sun Home Cold Plunge™ Pro Sun Home Saunas · manufacturer · checked Oct 13, 2026
  2. Sun Home Cold Plunge Pro store listing (variant, price and description) Sun Home Saunas · manufacturer · data file · checked Oct 13, 2026
  3. Cold Plunge Pro specifications (PDF, September 2026) Sun Home Saunas · manufacturer · checked Oct 13, 2026
  4. Warranty & Returns FAQ Sun Home Saunas · manufacturer · checked Oct 13, 2026
  5. Warranty Information Sun Home Saunas · manufacturer · checked Oct 13, 2026
  6. Cold Plunge Filter (3-pack) - 10" x 2.5" store listing (price, compatibility and change interval) Sun Home Saunas · manufacturer · data file · checked Oct 13, 2026

About this review. The facts on this page come from manufacturer pages, checked Oct 13, 2026. The sources are listed above.

Our editorial policy →