PRODUCT REVIEWS & BUYING GUIDES
US EDITION · USD

SUNLIGHTEN VS CLEARLIGHT

Sunlighten vs Clearlight sauna: heaters, EMF, power and price

This page sets Sunlighten’s five reviewed infrared cabins against Clearlight’s Sanctuary 1 and 2. Sunlighten prints sale prices of $4,999 to $8,599 for four of them (checked October 23, 2026). Clearlight shows no price for either Sanctuary, only a quote button. The other big split is the outlet: every Sunlighten here needs its own 20 A circuit.

The bottom line

Choose Sunlighten if you want a listed price and can give the cabin its own 20 A circuit. Choose Clearlight if you need a one-seater for a standard 15 A outlet, or want parts covered for as long as you own it. Clearlight sells by quote only, so its price stays unknown until you ask.

Our reviews rest on published sources, not hands-on testing. Our method

Porsche also cofounded Superhuman Chambers, which sells hyperbaric chambers · About the author. This is general information, not medical advice, and no clinician has reviewed it.

These links go to each brand’s own store and earn us no commission. Prices are dated US snapshots.

In this article

Sunlighten vs Clearlight: the short answer

Choose Sunlighten if you want a price on the page and can give the cabin its own 20 A circuit. Four of its five reviewed cabins show a US price, $4,999 to $8,599 on sale when checked on October 23, 20262468. Sunlighten also makes the only three-person cabins here, and the only ones with red light built in579.

Choose Clearlight if you need a one-seater for a standard 15 A outlet, or want parts covered for as long as you own the cabin2426. A Clearlight cabin can also go back after you’ve opened it, if it’s like new and in its undamaged original packaging, for a 25% restocking charge plus shipping27. The catch is the price. Clearlight shows none for either Sanctuary, so you’ll have to ask for a quote2425.

The Signature I is the saunas guide’s pick for one person. It’s 37.8 in wide and needs a dedicated 120 V, 20 A circuit1. If you can’t add that circuit, the guide points to the Sanctuary 1, which Clearlight says plugs into a standard 120 V, 15 A outlet24.

Sunlighten and Clearlight side by side, from the makers’ product pages, manuals and policies, read Oct 13 to 24, 2026
QuestionSunlightenClearlight
Cabins reviewedSignature I and mPulse Aspire (1 person), Amplify II (2), Amplify III and Amplify RED III (up to 3)13579Sanctuary 1 (1 person) and Sanctuary 2 (up to 2)2425
US price$4,999 to $8,599 on sale for four cabins, checked Oct 23, 2026. No price for the mPulse Aspire24689Quote only for both, so the price is unknown. Pages read Oct 13, 20262425
OutletA dedicated 20 A circuit for all five, at 120 V or 240 V depending on the model135710A standard 120 V, 15 A outlet for the Sanctuary 1 and a 120 V, 20 A outlet for the Sanctuary 22425
HeatersFar-infrared in all five. The Amplify models add full-spectrum heaters, the Aspire mid-infrared ones, and the RED III and Aspire red and near-infrared LED panels13579Two 500 W full-spectrum heaters plus far-infrared heaters in both2425
EMF claim0.5 mG, with no measuring distance. Its linked 2020 lab report tested five models, and the Amplify II is the one reviewed here1516Under 1 mG, directly on the heater. Its linked 2016 lab report covers one heater, not a cabin, and read up to about 8 mG within a few inches of it2831
Warranty7 years on cabinet and heaters, 3 on controls. Parts only, with no labor, and you pay freight13Parts and shipping for as long as you own it. Labor 7 years indoors, per the Sanctuary manual2629
ReturnsUnopened only, within 30 days of delivery. Fees can include $499 restocking, 3%, storage and return shipping14New or like-new, within 30 business days. 25% restocking, plus the original and return shipping27
Delivery and assemblyPallet left in your garage or on a flat, paved driveway. Two people, about 2 to 3 hours (the Aspire about 1 to 2)19Liftgate freight at a scheduled appointment. Two people, about 1 to 1.5 hours per the assembly page, or 1 to 3 hours per the FAQ272830

The seven cabins side by side

Every figure here is the maker’s own, not a measurement. The rows run by headcount, so the one-person cabins sit together, then the two- and three-person ones.

Sunlighten’s prices are sale prices on its US store, checked October 23, 20262468. The mPulse Aspire and both Sanctuary models show no price at all92425.

Seats, heaters, power and size for the seven cabins, from the makers’ product pages and spec sheets, read Oct 13 to 23, 2026
CabinBest forSeatsHeatersPower and outletOutside size and weightPrice and where to buy
Sunlighten Signature IOne person on a dedicated 20 A circuit118 far-infrared. No full-spectrum or near-infrared heaters listed1120 V, 1,350 W. Dedicated 20 A circuit, NEMA 5-20R outlet137.8 W × 39.8 D × 77.7 H in, 428 lb1$4,999US price, checked Sale price when checked. Sunlighten lists $5,499 as its regular price.Check price at Sunlighten for Sunlighten Signature I
Sunlighten mPulse AspireOne person who wants red light built in195 far-infrared and 4 mid-infrared, plus 3 near-infrared and red LED panels910120 V, 18 A, 2,160 W. Dedicated 20 A circuit, NEMA 5-20 outlet101143.6 W × 41.6 D × 79 H in, 463 lb in eucalyptus10Price on requestNo published price, checked Get a quote at Sunlighten for Sunlighten mPulse Aspire
Clearlight Sanctuary 1One person with no spare 20 A circuit1242 full-spectrum at 500 W, plus far-infrared (count not stated)24120 V, 1,740 W, 14.6 A. Standard 15 A outlet, NEMA 5-15P plug2442.5 W × 48.25 D × 77 H in, 425 lb24Price on requestNo published price, checked Get a quote at Clearlight for Clearlight Sanctuary 1
Sunlighten Amplify IITwo people with a dedicated 20 A circuit235 far-infrared, 3 full-spectrum3120 V, dedicated 20 A circuit, NEMA 5-20R outlet. 1,880 W on the product page, 2,270 W on the spec sheet31850.9 W × 45.9 D × 77.7 H in. 541 lb on the product page, 562 lb on the spec sheet318$5,999US price, checked Sale price when checked. Sunlighten lists $6,899 as its regular price.Check price at Sunlighten for Sunlighten Amplify II
Clearlight Sanctuary 2Two people who put the warranty firstUp to 2252 full-spectrum at 500 W, plus far-infrared (count not stated)25120 V, 2,260 W, 18.83 A. 20 A outlet, NEMA 5-20P plug2551.75 W × 47.75 D × 77 H in, 450 lb25Price on requestNo published price, checked Get a quote at Clearlight for Clearlight Sanctuary 2
Sunlighten Amplify IIIThree people sharing sessionsUp to 357 far-infrared, 3 full-spectrum5Dedicated 20 A circuit. 120 V on the product page. 240 V, 3,280 W and a NEMA 6-20 outlet on the spec sheet51962.3 W × 45.9 D × 77.7 H in. 642 lb on the product page, 710 lb on the spec sheet519$6,999US price, checked Sale price when checked. Sunlighten lists $8,099 as its regular price.Check price at Sunlighten for Sunlighten Amplify III
Sunlighten Amplify RED IIIThree people who want red light on a 240 V circuitUp to 377 far-infrared and 3 full-spectrum, plus 5 near-infrared and red LED panels7240 V, 3,465 W, 14.44 A. Dedicated 20 A circuit, NEMA 6-20R outlet762.3 W × 45.9 D × 77.7 H in, 710 lb7$8,599US price, checked Sunlighten’s store showed it as unavailable on October 16 and offered it only as a pre-order through a sauna consultant.

These links go to each brand’s own store and earn us no commission.

Heaters and spectrum: what each brand puts in the cabin

Sunlighten builds every cabin here around far-infrared heaters. The Signature I lists eight of them and nothing else1. The Amplify II and Amplify III add three full-spectrum heaters to five or seven far-infrared ones35. The mPulse Aspire pairs five far-infrared heaters with four mid-infrared ones910. Sunlighten gives no per-heater wattage for the Signature I, Amplify II, Amplify III or Aspire13510.

Clearlight builds both Sanctuary models the same way. Two 500 W True Wave full-spectrum heaters sit on the front wall, and True Wave far-infrared heaters cover the back and side walls, the calves and the floor2425. Clearlight doesn’t state how many far-infrared heaters there are or their wattage2425. It says the Sanctuary 2’s heaters combine ceramic and carbon25.

Of these seven, only two Sunlighten cabins come with red light built in. The Amplify RED III adds five near-infrared and red LED panels for $1,600 more than the Amplify III, and Sunlighten doesn’t publish their wavelength or output68. The Aspire has three such panels, which Sunlighten says peak at 650 nm and 880 nm and deliver 1 to 3 mW/cm² to the skin12. Clearlight offers a red light therapy upgrade for the Sanctuary 124. Its FAQ says adding a full-spectrum door heater or red light therapy tower may raise a cabin’s circuit, typically from 15 A to 20 A or from 20 A to 30 A, and names no models28.

Top temperatures are the makers’ own figures. Sunlighten lists up to 170°F for the Signature I and the three Amplify cabins, and gives no top temperature for the Aspire17121819. Clearlight’s Sanctuary manual sets the Sanctuary 2’s maximum at 175°F29. Its FAQ says its cabins typically reach 115 to 125°F even when set to 150°F, and another answer says 115 to 130°F. Neither answer names a model28.

EMF and ELF claims: how each brand states them

Both brands sell their heaters as low EMF, and both link reports by the same lab, Vitatech Electromagnetics15163031. The two reports measured different things, so read what each one covers.

Sunlighten’s safety page says its heater panels measure 0.5 mG, less than 1 mG. It gives no measuring distance, test date, model list or ELF figure15. The page links Vitatech report VTE-3200, measured on November 5, 2020 in Sunlighten’s Lenexa, Kansas warehouse16. It records maximum magnetic fields of 0.11 to 0.86 mG RMS in five models: an Amplify II at 0.11 mG RMS, the mPulse Believe and Conquer, the Signature IV and the Solo16. It didn’t test the Signature I, Amplify III, Amplify RED III or mPulse Aspire16. Sunlighten doesn’t say whether today’s Amplify II matches the one tested316.

Sunlighten’s product pages say less. The Amplify II page describes a “low EMF design” with no figure3. The Amplify RED III page calls its heating and light technology third-party verified for ultra-low EMF and VOCs7. No Amplify RED was in the 2020 report, so its red light panels have no published reading16.

Clearlight says its True Wave heaters “cancel out both EMF and ELF” and lists the Sanctuary 2 as low EMF/ELF25. Its FAQ says the heaters measure less than 1 mG directly on the heater, and names no test standard or lab for that figure28. Clearlight’s assembly page links a September 2016 Vitatech report for Sauna Works3031. It tested one 600 W, 240 V Clearlight heater, not a Sanctuary cabin, and found fields fell to 0.0 mG at 3 to 4 feet31. Within a few inches of the heater, though, its readings went above 1 mG, up to about 8 mG RMS31. The full-spectrum heaters in both Sanctuary models are rated 500 W2425.

So the two brands’ figures can’t be lined up. Sunlighten gives a number with no distance, Clearlight a number taken directly on the heater, and each lab report covers other models or a single heater. None of these figures is evidence of a health effect. If EMF matters to you, ask either maker for a reading of the exact cabin and the distance it was taken at.

Safety listings are thin on both sides. Sunlighten says its saunas are ETL-certified and points to the Intertek directory, but gives no listing number15. Clearlight’s FAQ lists ETL and CE certification, and its site shows Intertek and CE logos, with no listing number2428. Ask for the file number before you order.

Power and install: plug-in cabins, different circuits

Each cabin here plugs into a wall outlet rather than being wired in1357102425. What differs is the circuit behind that outlet, and that’s where the brands split.

Every Sunlighten here needs a dedicated 20 A circuit. The Signature I, Amplify II and mPulse Aspire run on 120 V with a NEMA 5-20 outlet1310. The Amplify RED III needs 240 V and a NEMA 6-20R outlet7. For the Amplify III, the product page says 120 V and the spec sheet says 240 V, so get Sunlighten’s answer in writing before you book an electrician519. Sunlighten’s warranty is void on a power strip, extension cord, converter or shared circuit13.

Clearlight’s Sanctuary 1 plugs into a standard 120 V, 15 A outlet, and the Sanctuary 2 into a 120 V, 20 A outlet2425. Clearlight doesn’t say either one needs a dedicated circuit2425. Their ratings sit close to those limits, though: 14.6 A on a 15 A outlet and 18.83 A on a 20 A one2425. Clearlight’s Sanctuary manual calls for a grounded 3-wire socket, advises against extension cords and strongly recommends a GFCI in potentially wet locations29.

Neither brand prices the electrical work. Sunlighten’s Amplify pages tell you to book an electrician if you don’t have the outlet37. Clearlight offers an installation service in some areas, at no stated price30.

Delivery and assembly differ too. Sunlighten’s carrier leaves a pallet in your garage or on a flat, paved driveway and won’t take it up steps1. Two people assemble a Signature I or an Amplify in about 2 to 3 hours, and an Aspire in about 1 to 2139. Clearlight ships by liftgate freight at a scheduled appointment2427. It says two people usually assemble a Sanctuary in about 1 to 1.5 hours with a screwdriver and the included Allen wrench30. Its FAQ says 1 to 3 hours28. Sunlighten warns that the magnets used to assemble its saunas can interfere with pacemakers17.

Sunlighten vs Clearlight price: what each one costs

Sunlighten prints a price for four of its five reviewed cabins. All four were sale prices on its US store when checked on October 23, 2026, and each page also prints a higher regular price2468. Sunlighten’s pages say the sauna sale ends October 311357. Freight to the contiguous US is free1357. The steps up the Amplify line cost $1,000 and then $1,600468.

Clearlight’s price is unknown. Its Sanctuary 1 and Sanctuary 2 pages show a “Get Pricing” quote button and no price2425. On October 13 they also carried a “Save $600” Early Black Friday Sale banner and free shipping2425. A saving off a price you can’t see doesn’t tell you what you’d pay, so there’s no Clearlight price to compare yet. Sunlighten’s mPulse Aspire is quote only too, with a “Get pricing” form9.

Ask Clearlight for a written quote for the exact model and wood, with shipping, before you compare it with a Sunlighten. Check the date too, since Sunlighten’s prices are sale prices.

US prices and stock. Sunlighten prices checked Oct 23, 2026, stock read Oct 16. The mPulse Aspire page read Oct 20, Clearlight’s pages Oct 13
CabinUS priceAvailability
Sunlighten Signature I$4,999 sale (regular $5,499)2Ready to ship, arriving in 12 to 14 days12
Sunlighten mPulse AspireNo price. Sunlighten shows only a Get pricing form9Ask Sunlighten. Its shipping page says ship dates vary by model32
Clearlight Sanctuary 1No price. Clearlight shows only Get Pricing24Ask Clearlight. Liftgate freight at a scheduled appointment, with no delivery time stated2427
Sunlighten Amplify II$5,999 sale (regular $6,899)4Ready to ship, arriving in 12 to 14 days34
Clearlight Sanctuary 2No price. Clearlight shows only Get Pricing25Ask Clearlight. Liftgate freight at a scheduled appointment2527
Sunlighten Amplify III$6,999 sale (regular $8,099)6Ready to ship, arriving in 12 to 14 days56
Sunlighten Amplify RED III$8,599 sale (regular $9,899)8Not available on Oct 16. The page offered only a pre-order through a sauna consultant78

Warranty and returns: where the two brands differ most

Clearlight’s warranty runs longer. It covers the whole Sanctuary, with parts and shipping, for as long as you own it26. Labor is covered for 7 years of indoor home use in the US and Canada, per the Sanctuary owner’s manual29. Clearlight’s warranty page says only that labor is covered for an initial period2629. The manual says the warranty can’t be transferred without written consent29.

Sunlighten covers the cabinet and heaters for 7 years of home use, the controls for 3 and the glass door and audio for 113. It pays for replacement parts only. There’s no labor cover, and you pay freight on parts13. Coverage ends if you sell the sauna, and it’s void within 5 ft of a shower, tub or cold plunge13.

Outdoors, the terms tighten on both sides. Sunlighten says its saunas aren’t designed for outdoor use13. Clearlight covers a Sanctuary 2 outdoors only if you bought its water-resistant cover with the sauna and kept it on, and its manual’s outdoor terms give the cabin and labor 5 years29.

Clearlight lets you send back an opened cabin, at a cost. It takes back a sauna in new or like-new condition within 30 business days, with a return authorization27. It deducts a 25% restocking charge and the original shipping, which on a free-shipping order means the actual freight cost, and you pay return shipping27. Sunlighten takes back only an unopened sauna, within 30 days of delivery14. Its fees can include a 3% administrative fee, a $499 restocking fee, storage and return shipping14.

Running cost: what the makers estimate

Neither brand publishes an average power draw, so running costs are estimates. Sunlighten’s Signature I page puts it at 15 to 35 cents an hour, while its owner’s manual says $0.20 to $0.50 an hour120. Sunlighten’s Amplify, Amplify RED and mPulse manuals give the same $0.20 to $0.50 an hour2123. Clearlight’s FAQ estimates 20 to 25 cents a session for its saunas in general, without naming a cabin or an electricity rate28.

At the rated draw, yearly energy has an upper limit. The Signature I comes to about 690 kWh, or about $124 a year at $0.18 per kWh, at Sunlighten’s suggested 40-minute daily session plus a 45-minute preheat1. At that daily use, Sunlighten’s own hourly figures work out to $77 to $179 a year (product page) or $102 to $255 (manual)120. The mPulse Aspire comes to about 591 kWh, or $106 a year at the same rate, at an average of about 45 minutes a day from Sunlighten’s suggested sessions plus preheat1012.

For the Amplify cabins, a 45-minute preheat plus a 40-minute session would use about 3.2 kWh in the Amplify II and 4.6 kWh in the Amplify III at their spec-sheet ratings, and 4.9 kWh in the Amplify RED III at its rated draw71819. Those are ceilings, since the heaters cycle once the cabin is hot.

Clearlight rates the Sanctuary 1 at 1,740 W and the Sanctuary 2 at 2,260 W, but gives no daily use, so their yearly energy isn’t estimated2425. Neither brand lists a filter, lamp or other required replacement part124. Our three-year sauna cost page covers what a home sauna costs to run.

Which Sunlighten or Clearlight suits you

Each suits a different need, and this isn’t a ranking. Start with how many people will sit in it, then check the outlet you can give it. For other brands, see our infrared cabin comparison, and our sauna evidence review covers what studies of saunas found.

  • One person on a dedicated 20 A circuit: the Sunlighten Signature I. It’s $4,999 on sale and 37.8 in wide, with eight far-infrared heaters on 120 V12. It’s the saunas guide’s pick for one person. The catch: it needs its own 20 A circuit, it lists far-infrared heaters only, and an opened cabin can’t be returned114.
  • One person who wants red light built in: the Sunlighten mPulse Aspire. It pairs five far-infrared and four mid-infrared heaters with three near-infrared and red LED panels, on a dedicated 120 V, 20 A circuit910. The catch: Sunlighten shows no price, only a Get pricing form, and an opened cabin can’t be returned914.
  • One person with no spare 20 A circuit: the Clearlight Sanctuary 1. Clearlight says it plugs into a standard 120 V, 15 A outlet, and it adds two 500 W full-spectrum heaters to its far-infrared ones24. The catch: it’s sold by quote only, and its 14.6 A draw leaves that outlet little room for anything else24. A return costs a 25% restocking charge plus shipping27.
  • Two people with a dedicated 20 A circuit: the Sunlighten Amplify II. It’s $5,999 on sale, with five far-infrared and three full-spectrum heaters on 120 V34. The catch: Sunlighten’s product page and spec sheet disagree on power, 1,880 W against 2,270 W, and an opened cabin can’t be returned31418.
  • Two people who put the warranty first: the Clearlight Sanctuary 2. Clearlight covers parts and shipping for as long as you own it, with labor for 7 years indoors, and it plugs into a 120 V, 20 A outlet252629. The catch: there’s no published price, and its 18.83 A draw nearly fills that outlet25.
  • Three people sharing sessions: the Sunlighten Amplify III. It’s $6,999 on sale, with a 56.7 in bench, seven far-infrared heaters and three full-spectrum ones56. The catch: the product page says 120 V and the spec sheet 240 V, so get Sunlighten’s answer in writing before you book an electrician519.
  • Three people who want red light on a 240 V circuit: the Sunlighten Amplify RED III. It’s $8,599 on sale, $1,600 more than the Amplify III, and adds five near-infrared and red LED panels68. It needs a dedicated 240 V, 20 A circuit7. The catch: Sunlighten doesn’t publish the red light’s wavelength or output, and it was pre-order only on October 1678.

Keep reading

Sources

  1. Signature I - Eucalyptus Sunlighten · manufacturer
  2. Signature I - Eucalyptus store listing (variant price and availability) Sunlighten · manufacturer · price read from the store’s product data
  3. Amplify II - Eucalyptus - Black Edition Sunlighten · manufacturer
  4. Amplify II - Eucalyptus - Black Edition store listing (variant price and availability) Sunlighten · manufacturer · price read from the store’s product data
  5. Amplify III - Eucalyptus - Black Edition Sunlighten · manufacturer
  6. Amplify III - Eucalyptus - Black Edition store listing (variant price and availability) Sunlighten · manufacturer · price read from the store’s product data
  7. Amplify RED III - Eucalyptus Sunlighten · manufacturer
  8. Amplify RED III - Eucalyptus store listing (price, regular price and availability) Sunlighten · manufacturer · price read from the store’s product data
  9. mPulse Aspire 1-person infrared sauna Sunlighten · manufacturer
  10. mPulse Aspire spec sheet (Doc# 09142026, PDF) Sunlighten · manufacturer
  11. mPulse Aspire US assembly guide (01152026, PDF) Sunlighten · manufacturer
  12. mPulse Aspire support (FAQs, heat-up and LED panel answers) Sunlighten · manufacturer
  13. Sunlighten warranty (US and Canada) Sunlighten · manufacturer
  14. Sunlighten returns and cancellation policy Sunlighten · manufacturer
  15. Sunlighten sauna safety (EMF, ETL, materials and air quality) Sunlighten · manufacturer
  16. Sauna EMI test VTE-3200 by Vitatech Electromagnetics (PDF) Sunlighten · manufacturer
  17. Contraindications Sunlighten · manufacturer
  18. Amplify II spec sheet (PDF, Doc# 09142026) Sunlighten · manufacturer
  19. Amplify III spec sheet (PDF, Doc# 09142026) Sunlighten · manufacturer
  20. Signature owner's manual (PDF) Sunlighten · manufacturer
  21. Amplify owner's manual (PDF) Sunlighten · manufacturer
  22. Amplify RED owner's manual (PDF, 08-2026) Sunlighten · manufacturer
  23. mPulse Intelligent Sauna owner's manual (PDF) Sunlighten · manufacturer
  24. Sanctuary 1 Infrared Sauna Clearlight · manufacturer
  25. Clearlight Sanctuary 2 official product page Clearlight · manufacturer
  26. Clearlight Sauna Limited Lifetime Warranty Clearlight · manufacturer
  27. Sauna Shipping & Return Policy Clearlight · manufacturer
  28. Clearlight FAQ Clearlight · manufacturer
  29. Clearlight Sanctuary owner's manual (PDF, covers Sanctuary 1, 2, 3, Y, Retreat and C; undated) Clearlight · manufacturer
  30. Easy Assembly Instructions & Manuals Clearlight · manufacturer
  31. Clearlight Infrared Sauna Heater AC ELF EMF Testing and Mitigation Analysis Report (Vitatech, 2016; PDF linked from the assembly page) Clearlight · manufacturer
  32. Sunlighten shipping and delivery Sunlighten · manufacturer

How this was written. Written from the sources listed above, checked . It is general information, not medical advice. Talk to a clinician before acting on anything here if you have a health condition or take medication.

Our editorial policy →