Best upper-arm blood pressure monitor
Omron Evolv BP7000
One-piece Omron upper-arm monitor with no tube or wires, MSRP $119.99
$119.99
US price, checked
Upper arm blood pressure monitor
Omron upper-arm monitor with AFib screening and two users, MSRP $90.99
Our founder, Porsche Ma, has used this one. Like every review here, it rests on published sources, not hands-on testing. Our method
Porsche also cofounded Superhuman Chambers, which sells hyperbaric chambers · About the author. This is general information, not medical advice, and no clinician has reviewed it.
The Platinum BP5465 is an Omron upper-arm monitor with two user profiles, Bluetooth sync and, Omron says, AFib screening on every reading. It suits you if you want those features and a six-year warranty. The catch: no accuracy study of the BP5465 itself was found. Omron's accuracy table lists it as meeting ISO 81060-2, but its validated list names the earlier BP5450. For a model on the AMA's list, look at the Omron Evolv BP7000 or the 3 Series BP7150.
The accuracy studies we found tested the BP5450, and it shows no blood pressure reading when it flags a possible AFib.
At a glanceUpper arm blood pressure monitor
Model reviewed: Platinum BP5465 (HEM-7382T1-AZAZ), AFib screening, cuff for 9 to 17 in arms
No affiliate commission on this link. Check the exact variant before buying.
Omron's printed MSRP on Oct 20, 2026, before tax and shipping. The page shows no sale price. Omron says it sells the Platinum only on Amazon.com, so the checkout price there may differ. Amazon's price wasn't checked.
A GOOD FIT FOR
You want an Omron upper-arm monitor with two user profiles, AFib screening on every reading and a six-year warranty.
THINK TWICE IF
Omron’s earlier Platinum, the BP5450, passed an ISO 81060-2 accuracy test in 86 adults11. No accuracy test of the BP5465 sold now was found11.
In that 2023 study, readings differed from a mercury reference by 1.9 mm Hg systolic and 3.6 mm Hg diastolic on average11. Omron paid for the study through a grant to Northwestern University, the US National Institutes of Health also supported it, and Omron chose the monitors11. For the BP5465, Omron’s manual says it was clinically investigated under ISO 81060-2:2013, with 85 subjects used to check diastolic pressure2. That’s Omron’s statement, not an outside result.
The AMA lists the older BP5450. We couldn’t find a listing for the BP54654. Omron’s list of monitors on the US Validated Device Listing names the BP5450, not the BP54654. Omron’s accuracy table lists the BP5465 as meeting ISO 81060-2 without naming a study of it. It cites the same numbered references as the BP71504.
The AMA’s listing for the BP5450 shows a home device validated under ANSI/AAMI/ISO 81060-2:2009 for a 22 to 42 cm cuff7. That page is from an archived copy, so check validatebp.org for the model number before you buy7.
| Exact variant | Platinum BP5465 (HEM-7382T1-AZAZ), AFib screening, cuff for 9 to 17 in arms |
|---|---|
| Cuff and arm size | A wide-range D-ring cuff for upper arms 9 to 17 in (22 to 42 cm) comes in the box. An optional small D-ring cuff (HEM-CS24-B) fits 7 to 9 in (17 to 22 cm). Omron lists a replacement wide-range cuff as HEM-RML31-B |
| AFib screening | Omron says one blood pressure measurement is enough to screen for possible AFib. When the monitor flags a possible AFib, it shows no blood pressure reading. Omron's manual says the feature isn't a diagnosis, doesn't catch every episode, and that no flag doesn't mean AFib is absent |
| Irregular heartbeat | The monitor warns of irregular heartbeats detected during a measurement and shows the warning with the reading. Omron's spec table lists no irregular heartbeat count |
| Memory and users | 200 readings in the monitor, 100 for each of two users, plus a guest mode. The OMRON connect app stores readings without a limit |
| Display and averaging | A backlit LCD with extra-large digits shows the new reading beside the previous one, unless AFib is flagged. TruRead takes three readings at 15, 30 or 60 seconds or 2 minutes apart and shows the average. Advanced Averaging averages up to three readings taken within 10 minutes |
| Indicators | A hypertension indicator shows on the display. A High Morning Average indicator shows HIGH when the morning average reaches 130 systolic or 80 diastolic mmHg, Omron says. Omron says the monitor also detects body movement during a measurement |
| Range and accuracy | Systolic 60 to 260 mmHg, diastolic 40 to 215 mmHg and pulse 40 to 180 beats a minute. Omron lists accuracy of plus or minus 3 mmHg for pressure and 5% of the reading for pulse |
| Power and battery life | Four AA batteries (included) or the included AC adapter. Omron's manual says about 500 measurements on new alkaline batteries with the included cuff, depending on battery type and cuff size |
| App | Bluetooth Low Energy sync to the free OMRON connect app on select iOS and Android devices. The app has a free tier and a premium tier with a 30-day free trial. The page checked shows no premium price |
| Intended users | Adults 22 and older, at home. Omron says it isn't intended for pregnant women or people with an implanted pacemaker or defibrillator. Omron also says it hasn't been validated for people with AFib or for pregnant patients |
| Service life | Monitor: 5 years or 30,000 uses. Cuff: 5 years or 10,000 uses. AC adapter: 5 years. Omron says not to use the monitor after its durable period ends |
| In the box | Monitor, wide-range D-ring cuff, storage case, four AA batteries, AC adapter, instruction manual and quick start guide |
| Dimensions | Monitor about 7.5 x 3.3 x 4.6 in (191 x 85 x 117 mm) and 15.9 oz (450 g) without batteries, per Omron. Its product page and manual disagree on which number is length, width or height, so no axis names are given. The wide-range D-ring cuff is about 5.7 x 23.4 in and 6 oz, with a 29.5 in air tube. |
| Materials | Not stated by the manufacturer. Omron says its home blood pressure monitors, cuffs and AC adapters are latex-free, but it doesn't name the housing or the cuff fabric. |
No installation. Four AA batteries and an AC adapter come in the box. Wrap the cuff on your upper arm with its bottom edge 0.5 inch (1 to 2 cm) above the inside elbow. Run the air tube down the inside of your arm. Pairing with the OMRON connect app over Bluetooth is optional, and the monitor keeps readings for two users without it.
Six years on the monitor, per Omron's product page. The manual gives the cuff and AC adapter one year and excludes batteries. Coverage is limited to the original retail buyer and units bought from an Omron-authorized seller. Omron replaces a covered unit at its option as your only remedy. Omron's warranty page sends you to the manual for the terms. To claim, call Omron for the inspection center's address and any return shipping and handling fee. Omron's warranty page says to ship the unit prepaid and insured, with the receipt and a letter.
Not stated by the manufacturer. Omron's pages give no return window. Omron says it sells the Platinum only on Amazon.com, so returns follow that seller's terms, which weren't checked.
The Platinum BP5465 is an Omron upper-arm monitor with two user profiles, a backlit screen and Bluetooth sync to the free OMRON connect app. Omron's old BP5450 page now redirects to this model. Omron says every reading also screens for possible AFib, and FDA's device listing places the BP5465 under a De Novo order for that feature. Omron's MSRP is $90.99, and Omron says it sells the Platinum only on Amazon.com. Omron's accuracy table lists the BP5465 as meeting ISO 81060-2, but its list of monitors on the validated device listing names the BP5450, and no BP5465 study turned up. The BP5450 passed an ISO 81060-2 accuracy test that Omron paid for and the NIH also supported.
Strengths on paper
Limitations
PLAN YOUR OWNERSHIP COSTS
Change the assumptions to fit your use. Leave an unknown cost blank. Add water, subscriptions, cleaning, shipping and taxes if they apply. Use average operating power, not the maximum rating.
3-year known subtotal
$90.99Incomplete: annual consumables, energy use. This is not the full ownership cost.
Energy component: Unknown
Purchase + installation + years × (annual consumables + annual other) + watts/1000 × hours/day × 365 × years × $/kWh. Annualized allowances, not an exact replacement schedule. Excludes taxes, shipping, finance and resale unless entered.Recorded recurring parts and refills:
Are home blood pressure monitors worth it? Our evidence review grades the research as Moderate. That grade is about the claim, not about this product.
Best upper-arm blood pressure monitor
One-piece Omron upper-arm monitor with no tube or wires, MSRP $119.99
$119.99
US price, checked
Best blood pressure monitor with Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi upper-arm monitor with a built-in cuff and 6-month battery, $129.95
$129.95
US price, checked
Omron
Basic Bluetooth upper-arm monitor for one person, MSRP $59.99
$59.99
US price, checked
About this review. The facts on this page come from manufacturer pages, certification listings, regulator records and published studies, checked between Oct 20 and Oct 23, 2026. The sources are listed above.
Our editorial policy →