Nordic Naturals
Nordic Naturals Vitamin D3 Gummies Sport
1,000 IU vitamin D3 gummy with an NSF Certified for Sport listing
$23.95
Compare with this one →Vitamin D
5,000 IU vitamin D3 capsule with an NSF Certified for Sport listing
Source-based analysis, not hands-on testing. Our method
Cofounder of Superhuman Chambers · About the author. General information, not medical advice. No independent clinical review is claimed.
Thorne Vitamin D-5,000 puts 5,000 IU (125 mcg) of vitamin D3 in one cellulose capsule, at $20 for 60. It's for an adult whose clinician has advised that dose, including athletes who want an NSF Certified for Sport listing. The catch is that one capsule a day is above the 4,000 IU adult upper intake level NIH's Office of Dietary Supplements lists, and approved returns carry a 25% restocking fee.
The label dose is above the adult upper intake level, which makes it the wrong strength to take daily on your own, and approved returns carry a 25% restocking fee.
Model reviewed: 60 capsules (SKU D138), 5,000 IU (125 mcg) vitamin D3 per capsule
US price, checked
No affiliate commission on this link. Check the exact variant before buying.
This is the one-time list price on Thorne's product page ("$20 /60 Capsule(s)"), before tax and shipping. That's about $0.33 per capsule. The page showed no sale, crossed-out or subscription price. The 120-capsule size (D139) lists at $39 on its own page, about $0.325 per capsule. It isn't used here because the price above is for the smaller bottle (D138).
A GOOD FIT FOR
An adult whose clinician has advised about 5,000 IU of vitamin D3 a day, including an athlete subject to drug testing who wants to match the bottle's lot number to NSF's listing.
THINK TWICE IF
| Exact variant | 60 capsules (SKU D138), 5,000 IU (125 mcg) vitamin D3 per capsule |
|---|---|
| Dose per serving | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) vitamin D3 per 1-capsule serving |
| Servings per container | 60 |
| Other size | 120 capsules (SKU D139), $39 list price on its own product page, about $0.325 per capsule |
| Form | Hypromellose (cellulose-derived) capsule with leucine, microcrystalline cellulose, silicon dioxide and vitamin E (d-alpha-tocopherol) |
| Certification | NSF Certified for Sport: listed as Thorne D-5,000, unflavored capsules, package sizes 60 and 120, serving size 1 capsule, with 39 certified lot numbers |
| Dose versus adult upper limit | 5,000 IU a day at the label dose, against a 4,000 IU (100 mcg) adult tolerable upper intake level and a 600 to 800 IU adult RDA listed by NIH ODS |
| Directions | 1 capsule daily or as recommended by your health-care practitioner |
| Allergen statements | Gluten free, dairy free and soy free, with no lactose and no preservatives, per Thorne |
| Dimensions | Not stated by the manufacturer. Thorne gives 60 one-capsule servings per bottle, but no bottle size, net weight or capsule size. |
| Materials | Each capsule holds 125 mcg (5,000 IU) of vitamin D3. The other ingredients are leucine, microcrystalline cellulose, silicon dioxide, a hypromellose capsule (derived from cellulose) and vitamin E (d-alpha-tocopherol). Thorne labels it gluten free, dairy free and soy free. It also says its vitamin D supplements contain no lactose and no preservatives. Thorne doesn't state the source of the vitamin D3. |
None. Thorne's directions are to take 1 capsule daily or as recommended by your health-care practitioner.
Not stated by the manufacturer. The product page gives no warranty. Thorne's returns page describes a 60-day satisfaction guarantee (see returns).
Thorne's returns page says you can request a return within 60 days of the date of purchase from Thorne. All approved returns carry a 25% restocking fee. A separate answer on the same page describes Thorne's 60-Day Satisfaction Guarantee. If you bought from an authorized reseller, you return the product there for your money back, a store credit or a replacement. If you bought from Thorne's website or a US authorized seller and can't reach a satisfactory resolution with the seller, you can call Customer Service. You can ask for a refund or a product credit. Guarantee requests must be made within 60 days of the date of purchase. Thorne generally doesn't refund or exchange product past its expiration date. Customer Service is at 800-228-1966 and support@thorne.com. The page doesn't say who pays return shipping. For an opened product that a doctor won't take back, it asks you to call Customer Service and says Thorne will do its best to accommodate you.
Thorne Vitamin D-5,000 is a vitamin D3 supplement with 125 mcg (5,000 IU) in each hypromellose (cellulose) capsule. The 60-capsule bottle lists at $20, about $0.33 a capsule, or $121.67 a year at one capsule a day. NSF's Certified for Sport database lists it as Thorne D-5,000, with 39 certified lot numbers. The catch is the dose: one capsule a day is 1,000 IU above the 4,000 IU (100 mcg) adult upper intake level that NIH's Office of Dietary Supplements lists. That makes it a strength for a dose a clinician has advised, not routine use. Approved returns also carry a 25% restocking fee.
Strengths on paper
Limitations
Adjust the assumptions for your use. Missing costs stay unknown.
PLAN YOUR OWNERSHIP COSTS
Change the assumptions to fit your use. Leave an unknown cost blank. Add water, subscriptions, cleaning, shipping and taxes if they apply. Use average operating power, not the maximum rating.
3-year planning total
$385.01Every field has a value. This is an estimate, not a quote.
Energy component: $0.00
Purchase + installation + years × (annual consumables + annual other) + watts/1000 × hours/day × 365 × years × $/kWh. Annualized allowances, not an exact replacement schedule. Excludes taxes, shipping, finance and resale unless entered.Recorded recurring parts and refills:
Do creatine, fish oil, vitamin D and magnesium work? Our evidence review grades the research as Mixed. That grade is about the claim, not about this product.
Nordic Naturals
1,000 IU vitamin D3 gummy with an NSF Certified for Sport listing
$23.95
Compare with this one →About this review. The facts on this page come from manufacturer pages, certification listings and independent tests, checked Oct 13, 2026. The sources are listed above.
Our editorial policy →