Does creatine work? Modest, consistent gains when paired with training
Creatine trials in older adults so far report no consistent harms13. Vitamin D also didn’t reduce fractures in a study within its large trial11. For magnesium, correcting a diagnosed deficiency is a separate question from routine use12.
FDA doesn’t approve or test supplements before sale, so an independent quality seal is one of the few outside checks that the label matches the contents131617. A seal still doesn’t mean a product is safe or effective14.
A 2017 meta-analysis pooled 22 randomized trials in 721 older adults, with mean ages of 57 to 701. Participants did resistance training two or three days a week for 7 to 52 weeks while taking creatine or a placebo1. The creatine groups gained about 1.37 kg more lean tissue mass (95% CI 0.97 to 1.76)1.
Strength gains were also slightly larger with creatine, but the effects were small: standardized mean differences of 0.35 for chest press and 0.24 for leg press1. The NIH Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) says creatine helps the body adapt to structured, increasing training loads over weeks to months3. It adds that responses vary from person to person3.
Cognition is an emerging area. A 2024 meta-analysis pooled 16 randomized trials with 492 adults aged about 21 to 76, most of them healthy2. It found a small improvement in memory (standardized mean difference 0.31, moderate certainty)2. Times on attention and processing-speed tasks were also faster, though that finding is low certainty2. There was no significant effect on overall cognitive function or executive function, and the authors called for larger, more rigorous trials2.
The muscle results come from trials that added creatine to resistance training, so they say little about creatine without training1. The pooled outcomes were lean mass and strength tests, not falls, fractures or day-to-day independence1. For cognition, the authors note that the relatively small sample sizes limit the statistical power and generalizability of their conclusions2.
On safety, most trials in the 2017 meta-analysis reported no creatine-related adverse effects1. Four reported gastrointestinal events and two reported muscle cramping, but none of these led participants to withdraw1. The five trials that checked liver or kidney function found no adverse effects1. Still, the authors cautioned that about 700 participants is too few to detect rare harms, and they noted case reports of kidney impairment in young men1.
ODS reports no consistent side effects apart from weight gain, which can reach 1 to 2 kg in a month alongside strength training3. It lists nausea, diarrhea and other stomach upset, muscle cramps and heat intolerance among anecdotal reactions3. The International Society of Sports Nutrition is a professional society, not a regulator4. It concludes that intakes of up to 30 g a day for up to five years have been safe and well tolerated in healthy people4.
Omega-3 fish oil: supplement doses didn’t prevent major cardiovascular events in healthy older adults
VITAL randomized 25,871 US adults with no previous heart attack, stroke or cancer: men aged 50 and older and women aged 55 and older59. They took 1 g a day of marine omega-3 (460 mg EPA and 380 mg DHA) or a placebo for a median of 5.3 years59. Fish oil didn’t lower major cardiovascular events (hazard ratio 0.92, 95% CI 0.80 to 1.06)5. It didn’t lower invasive cancer either (hazard ratio 1.03, 95% CI 0.93 to 1.13)5.
Total heart attacks, a secondary outcome, were lower (hazard ratio 0.72, 95% CI 0.59 to 0.90)59. ODS notes larger reductions in heart attacks among Black participants and among people who ate less than 1.5 servings of fish a week9. But secondary and subgroup results like these point to questions for future trials rather than settled benefits9. ODS also reports no significant reduction in stroke or cardiovascular death9.
Prescription icosapent ethyl is a different case. REDUCE-IT tested 4 g a day of icosapent ethyl, a prescription ethyl ester of EPA alone610. Its 8,179 participants were statin-treated adults with fasting triglycerides of 135 to 499 mg/dL610. They also had cardiovascular disease, or diabetes plus other risk factors610. Over a median of 4.9 years, the main composite of cardiovascular events fell from 22.0% to 17.2% (hazard ratio 0.75, 95% CI 0.68 to 0.83)6.
REDUCE-IT has two catches. The placebo was mineral oil, which ODS says isn’t a neutral placebo and may have made the difference between groups look larger69. And Amarin, the drug’s maker, funded the trial610.
STRENGTH tested a high-dose EPA-plus-DHA formulation instead: 4 g a day of omega-3 carboxylic acids7. Its 13,078 participants were high-risk, statin-treated patients with high triglycerides and low HDL cholesterol7. It found no benefit over a corn-oil comparator (12.0% vs 12.2%; hazard ratio 0.99)7.
The icosapent ethyl label limits its cardiovascular use to adults on maximally tolerated statins with triglycerides of 150 mg/dL or more10. They must also have either established cardiovascular disease or diabetes with two or more other risk factors10. A typical 1,000 mg fish oil capsule supplies about 180 mg EPA and 120 mg DHA9. So the REDUCE-IT result doesn’t transfer to over-the-counter fish oil.
These trials don’t show that routine fish oil at supplement doses prevents heart attacks, strokes or cancer in healthy adults5. REDUCE-IT applies to one prescription drug at 4 g a day, in statin-treated, high-risk patients with raised triglycerides610. In STRENGTH, a high-dose EPA-plus-DHA formulation didn’t reproduce that result7.
On safety, a 2021 meta-analysis linked marine omega-3 supplementation with a higher risk of atrial fibrillation (hazard ratio 1.25, 95% CI 1.07 to 1.46)8. It pooled 7 cardiovascular outcome trials with 81,210 participants8. The risk was greater in trials using more than 1 g a day (hazard ratio 1.49) than in those using 1 g or less (hazard ratio 1.12)8. It rose by about 11% for each additional gram8.
In REDUCE-IT, hospitalization for atrial fibrillation or flutter was 3.1% with icosapent ethyl vs 2.1% with placebo610. The drug’s label also warns of more bleeding (12% vs 10%; serious bleeding 3% vs 2%)10. In STRENGTH, gastrointestinal side effects affected 24.7% of the omega-3 group vs 14.7% of the comparator group7. ODS reports that FDA considers supplements supplying no more than 5 g a day of EPA and DHA safe when used as recommended9. It adds that supplement labels shouldn’t recommend more than 2 g a day9.
Vitamin D: fixing a deficiency isn’t the same as routine use
VITAL also tested vitamin D. Its 25,871 participants were randomized to 2,000 IU (50 mcg) of vitamin D3 a day or placebo for a median of 5.3 years11. Vitamin D didn’t significantly change rates of breast, prostate or colorectal cancer11. It didn’t significantly reduce heart attacks, strokes or cardiovascular deaths either11. And in a 2022 ancillary study, it didn’t reduce total, hip or nonvertebral fractures11.
Deficiency is a separate question from routine use. The National Academies consider people at risk of deficiency when blood 25-hydroxyvitamin D is below 30 nmol/L (12 ng/mL)11. They consider 50 nmol/L (20 ng/mL) or more sufficient for most people11. The adult RDA is 600 IU (15 mcg) a day through age 70 and 800 IU (20 mcg) after that11.
As summarized by ODS, the Endocrine Society recommends routine supplementation for adults 75 and older, pregnant women, adults with prediabetes, and children and teens11. It doesn’t recommend it for healthy adults aged 19 to 7411. It says everyone should follow the RDA, and it advises against routine blood testing in healthy people11. The US Preventive Services Task Force found insufficient evidence to weigh the benefits and harms of screening adults without symptoms11.
The large trials don’t show that taking vitamin D routinely prevents cancer, cardiovascular disease or fractures in generally healthy older adults11. These results concern routine use. They aren’t a verdict on treating a diagnosed deficiency, which is a decision for a clinician.
The adult tolerable upper intake level is 4,000 IU (100 mcg) a day11. ODS says vitamin D toxicity almost always comes from supplements and causes high blood calcium11. In extreme cases, it can lead to kidney failure, abnormal heart rhythms and death11. In the Women’s Health Initiative, 36,282 postmenopausal women were randomized to 1,000 mg of calcium plus 400 IU of vitamin D a day, or placebo11. The supplement group had a 17% higher risk of kidney stones over seven years than the placebo group11.
Magnesium: low intake is common, symptomatic deficiency isn’t, and sleep benefits aren’t established
About 48% of Americans get less magnesium from food and drinks than the estimated average requirement, based on 2013 to 2016 national survey data12. But ODS says symptomatic deficiency from low dietary intake is uncommon in otherwise healthy people, because the kidneys limit how much magnesium is lost in urine12. It lists the groups more likely to have inadequate status: people with gastrointestinal diseases such as Crohn’s or celiac disease, type 2 diabetes or alcohol dependence, and older adults12. The adult RDA is 400 to 420 mg a day for men and 310 to 320 mg for women12.
A low intake on a dietary survey isn’t the same as a deficiency12. Blood magnesium hasn’t been measured in the national nutrition survey since 1974, so current magnesium status in the US isn’t known12. As for sleep, the ODS fact sheet for health professionals doesn’t discuss sleep or insomnia12. None of the sources reviewed for this page establish a sleep benefit from magnesium in healthy adults.
The 350 mg tolerable upper intake level applies to magnesium from supplements and medicines, not to magnesium in food12. High supplemental doses can cause diarrhea, nausea and abdominal cramping12. The risk of toxicity rises when kidney function is impaired12.
Magnesium also interacts with some medicines. It can reduce the absorption of oral bisphosphonates and some antibiotics12. Loop and thiazide diuretics can increase magnesium loss in urine, while potassium-sparing diuretics reduce it12. Proton pump inhibitors taken for long periods, typically more than a year, can cause low blood magnesium12.
Why third-party testing matters
FDA doesn’t approve dietary supplements before they’re sold, and it doesn’t test them before they reach consumers13. Manufacturers and distributors have the initial responsibility for making sure their products are safe13. Testing has turned up problems. ODS describes a 2013 analysis of six deer antler velvet supplements3. Five contained no deer IGF-1, and four were adulterated with human IGF-13.
More recently, in March 2024, the supplement maker NOW said it had tested 12 creatine gummy brands bought on Amazon or brand websites15. It reported that five contained little to no creatine, while the other seven met their label claims15. NOW is a competitor, though, and the results weren’t independently verified15. That’s because none of the third-party labs NOW typically uses said they were able to test the gummies15.
Independent seals check different things. The USP Verified Mark means a product contains the listed ingredients in the declared amounts and has no harmful levels of specified contaminants17. It also means the product breaks down within a set time and was made under FDA good manufacturing practices17. NSF Certified for Sport checks the label against the contents and screens for unsafe contaminants and 290 substances banned by major athletic organizations16. It also requires a GMP-certified manufacturing site, which NSF audits annually or bi-annually depending on its grade16.
Informed Sport tests every batch for substances banned in sport before release18. Its home page doesn’t say that it verifies potency18. ODS stresses that quality seals don’t guarantee a product is safe or effective14.
| Seal | Label contents and amounts | Contaminants | Substances banned in sport | Manufacturing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| USP Verified | Listed ingredients in declared amounts | No harmful levels of specified contaminants | Not stated on the program page | Made under FDA good manufacturing practices |
| NSF Certified for Sport | Label checked against contents | No unsafe levels of contaminants | Screens for 290 substances | GMP-certified site, audited annually or bi-annually by grade |
| Informed Sport | Not stated on the program page | Not stated on the program page | Every batch tested before release | Not stated on the program page |
What to look for
None of these supplements replaces the habits the trials were built around, such as the resistance training in the creatine studies1. Supplements can also interact with some medicines14. ODS advises getting a health care provider’s approval before taking supplements in place of, or in combination with, prescribed medicines14. If you’re weighing one, these checks follow from the evidence above.
- Creatine: check the creatine per serving, not the number of gummies, given the 2024 gummy test results15. The cognition trials used creatine monohydrate2. ODS describes a typical regimen of a 5- to 7-day loading phase followed by 3 to 5 g a day3.
- Fish oil: look for EPA and DHA amounts in milligrams on the label. Typical supplement amounts are far below the 4 g a day prescription regimen910. In trials, atrial fibrillation risk rose with higher intakes8.
- Vitamin D: the adult upper limit is 4,000 IU a day11. The Endocrine Society guidance summarized by ODS doesn’t recommend routine supplementation for healthy adults aged 19 to 7411. It says everyone should follow the RDA11.
- Magnesium: more than 350 mg a day from supplements exceeds the upper limit12. Impaired kidney function raises the risk of toxicity12.
- A seal you can look up: search the certifier’s own database for the exact product, and use the batch search where there is one18.
- Claims that sound like treatment: a supplement marketed with a disease or cure claim is a warning sign. Only a drug can legally claim to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent a disease, and FDA doesn’t determine whether supplements work before they’re sold1314.
Sources
- Effect of creatine supplementation during resistance training on lean tissue mass and muscular strength in older adults: a meta-analysis Open Access Journal of Sports Medicine (Dove Medical Press), 2017 · meta-analysis
- The effects of creatine supplementation on cognitive function in adults: a systematic review and meta-analysis Frontiers in Nutrition, 2024 · meta-analysis
- Dietary Supplements for Exercise and Athletic Performance: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals NIH Office of Dietary Supplements · regulator
- International Society of Sports Nutrition position stand: safety and efficacy of creatine supplementation in exercise, sport, and medicine Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition, 2017 · guideline
- Marine n-3 Fatty Acids and Prevention of Cardiovascular Disease and Cancer (VITAL) New England Journal of Medicine, 2019 · randomized trial
- Cardiovascular Risk Reduction with Icosapent Ethyl for Hypertriglyceridemia (REDUCE-IT) New England Journal of Medicine, 2019 · randomized trial
- Effect of High-Dose Omega-3 Fatty Acids vs Corn Oil on Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events in Patients at High Cardiovascular Risk: The STRENGTH Randomized Clinical Trial JAMA, 2020 · randomized trial
- Effect of Long-Term Marine Omega-3 Fatty Acids Supplementation on the Risk of Atrial Fibrillation in Randomized Controlled Trials of Cardiovascular Outcomes: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis Circulation (American Heart Association), 2021 · meta-analysis
- Omega-3 Fatty Acids: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals NIH Office of Dietary Supplements · regulator
- VASCEPA (icosapent ethyl) capsules: prescribing information DailyMed, US National Library of Medicine, 2026 · regulator
- Vitamin D: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals NIH Office of Dietary Supplements · regulator
- Magnesium: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals NIH Office of Dietary Supplements · regulator
- Questions and Answers on Dietary Supplements US Food and Drug Administration, 2026 · regulator
- Dietary Supplements: What You Need to Know NIH Office of Dietary Supplements · regulator
- NOW tests creatine gummies, finding almost half to be severely understrength SupplySide Supplement Journal, 2024 · news
- What Our Mark Means NSF Certified for Sport · certifier
- USP Verified Mark US Pharmacopeia · certifier
- Informed Sport LGC Group · certifier
How this was written. Written from the sources listed above, checked . It is general information, not medical advice. Talk to a clinician before acting on anything here if you have a health condition or take medication.
Our editorial policy →