PRODUCT REVIEWS & BUYING GUIDES
US EDITION · USD

WEARABLES COMPARISON

Oura Ring 5 vs WHOOP Peak vs Ultrahuman Ring PRO: pay yearly or pay once

Oura, WHOOP and Ultrahuman offer three ways to pay for sleep and recovery tracking without a smartwatch. Oura sells a ring plus a yearly membership. WHOOP sells a screen-free strap only as a membership. Ultrahuman sells a ring you pay for once. This page covers Oura Ring 5 in Silver, the WHOOP Peak membership with its WHOOP 5.0 strap, and Ultrahuman Ring PRO in Aster Black.

The bottom line

No device wins on accuracy or health, because none of the sources validates a current model. Ultrahuman Ring PRO costs the least over three years, $479, with no required subscription. Oura Ring 5 is the thinner ring, at $608.97 over three years. WHOOP Peak, at $239 a year, costs the most: $717.

Source-based analysis, not hands-on testing. Our method

Cofounder of Superhuman Chambers · About the author. General information, not medical advice. No independent clinical review is claimed.

The products compared

These links go to each brand’s own store and earn us no commission. Prices are dated US snapshots.

In this article

The three side by side

None of these figures is evidence of a health or longevity effect. Ultrahuman lists up to 15 days a charge and up to 250 days of storage1518. Oura Ring 5 costs $399 plus $69.99 a year, and Oura cites published studies for its accuracy figures, though of earlier rings4689.

WHOOP Peak has no upfront price and a lifetime warranty while the membership stays active10. WHOOP publishes no dimensions, weight or water rating1011.

Prices are US prices on each maker’s official pages, before tax and shipping, checked on October 13, 2026. None was a sale price. WHOOP’s band listings and app store pages were checked on October 14, 2026. Every figure is the maker’s own unless a study is named. ‘Not stated’ means we didn’t find it on the pages we reviewed.

Prices, fees, specs and purchase terms for Oura Ring 5 (Silver), WHOOP Peak (WHOOP 5.0) and Ultrahuman Ring PRO (Aster Black), checked Oct 13, 2026
QuestionOura Ring 5 (Silver)WHOOP Peak (WHOOP 5.0)Ultrahuman Ring PRO (Aster Black)
What you getThe ring and a 1-year protection plan6. Oura Membership is a separate fee, tied to your account rather than the ring4A WHOOP 5.0 device, Wireless PowerPack and SuperKnit band, included with the membership10The ring, Ring PRO Charger and USB-C cable, plus the PRO Charging Case, which is free with the order1516
US price$399 for Silver. Black is also $399, and four other finishes are $499. No sale price shown16No separate hardware price. Peak is $239 a year, shown only as an annual price and not a sale price10$479 one-time for all four finishes, with the charging case marked free. No sale price shown1518
Recurring feeOura Membership: $5.99 a month or $69.99 a year (US, before tax). New members get the first month included45$239 a year for Peak. One is $199 a year and Life $359 a year10None for accessing your data, Ultrahuman says. Optional PowerPlugs cost extra, such as Cardio Adaptability ($24 for 1 year) and Cycle & Ovulation Pro ($39 for 1 year)15
If you stop payingThe app shows only the daily Readiness, Activity and Sleep scores, ring battery, basic profile, app settings and Explore content. You can still export all your data as CSV4Not stated. The membership page lists no hardware-only option and doesn’t say what the strap does after a membership ends10There’s no fee to stop. PowerPlug renewal prices after the first term aren’t stated15
Three-year cost, known items$608.97 on annual billing ($399 + 3 × $69.99), before tax. Charging energy unknown46$717 (3 × $239), if it renews at $239 a year. WHOOP doesn’t state the renewal price. Charging energy unknown10$479 before optional PowerPlugs or UltrahumanX cover. Charging energy unknown15
Form and sizeRing 6.09 mm wide and 2.28 mm thick, from 2 g depending on size. Titanium with a PVD coating12Strap with no display or built-in GPS. WHOOP says you can wear it on multiple locations across the body. No dimensions, weight or materials, beyond a launch claim of a seven percent smaller form1013Ring 2.65 mm thick (varies by size), 3.3 to 4.8 g. Titanium with a PVD coating. Band width not stated1518
SizesWhole sizes 6 to 13 only. Use the Ring 5 sizing kit, since Ring 5 sizing differs from Ring 4236Not stated. WHOOP’s membership page and its 5.0 SuperKnit band listings give no band sizes or wrist measurements1019Whole sizes 5 to 14 only, with a free sizing kit. Ultrahuman says its sizes may differ slightly from standard US ring sizes1518
Battery and charging6 to 9 days, depending on ring size and use. About 80 minutes to charge. The Charging Case is sold separately12614+ days, and about 2 hours for a full charge. WHOOP says the included Wireless PowerPack charges the strap while you wear it. A fully charged PowerPack holds enough power for up to 30 days to fully charge the sensor1013Up to 15 days (about 12 in Turbo Mode). Up to 45 days between wall charges with the included case. About 2.5 hours for a full charge151618
Data stored on the deviceUp to 3 days (Ring 4: up to 7)2Not stated. The WHOOP pages checked give battery life but not how much data the strap holds101113Up to 250 days, with up to a year of ring data backed up to the case1518
SensorsRed, green and infrared LEDs with 2 photodetectors, a temperature sensor and an accelerometer12Sensor types not listed. WHOOP says its sensors capture data 26 times per second11Temperature sensor, redesigned PPG sensor and 6-axis motion sensor1518
Water resistance100 m (328 ft), IP68. Oura says it’s not for diving12Not stated on the pages checked100 m (328 ft)1518
Phone and appOura App on iOS and Android, over Bluetooth 5.012WHOOP app, listed on the App Store and Google Play. Both listings say it requires a WHOOP wearable2021. Minimum phone and OS versions not stated on the pages checked102021Ultrahuman app, on the App Store and Google Play, over Bluetooth LE 5.31516
Published accuracyOura states 99% heart-rate accuracy (r² against ECG) and 95% sleep-versus-wake accuracy against a sleep lab18. The sleep paper it cites tested a Gen2 research ring, not Ring 59No figures for WHOOP 5.0. A 2024 systematic review of earlier WHOOP straps found 62% sleep-stage agreement with polysomnography or EEG (kappa 0.46)14None published. The FAQ says the metrics are benchmarked against industry-leading fitness wearables16
Warranty1-year protection plan included, or 2 years for $45 and 3 years for $60. The product page doesn’t say what it covers6Lifetime, with device replacement, while a membership bought directly from WHOOP stays active1012-month limited warranty from delivery16. Ultrahuman’s ring terms of sale, which don’t name Ring PRO, exclude normal wear, and batteries and cosmetic damage unless a defect caused the failure17. UltrahumanX adds accidental damage cover for $36 (1 year), or theft and loss too for $54 (2 years)15
ReturnsWithin 30 days of receipt, if fully functional and undamaged, with the charger and cable. Original shipping isn’t refunded, and each item can be returned or exchanged once7Within 30 days of receipt, cancel and return for any reason for a full refund minus shipping10Within 30 days of delivery, with all original accessories in the original packaging. Return shipping is free16

Which one should you get?

These are picks for different needs, not a ranking. All three send overnight readings to a phone app21015. They differ in how you pay, how often you charge, how long the device holds data and how much each maker publishes.

  • Pay once and charge rarely: Ultrahuman Ring PRO. It’s $479 with the charging case included and no recurring fee for your data15. Ultrahuman lists up to 15 days a charge and up to 45 days between wall charges with the case1518. It stores up to 250 days of data1518. You can send it back within 30 days of delivery with free return shipping16. The trade-off: Ultrahuman publishes no accuracy figures for Ring PRO, and some features are paid PowerPlugs1516. The warranty lasts 12 months and doesn’t cover batteries unless a defect caused the failure1617. It’s also thicker than Oura Ring 5, at 2.65 mm against 2.28 mm, and its lightest size weighs more, 3.3 g against 2 g1215.
  • The thinner ring, with published if older evidence: Oura Ring 5. At 2.28 mm thick, it’s the thinner of the two rings, and it weighs from 2 g12. It works with iOS and Android, and Oura cites published studies for its accuracy figures128. The trade-off: most insights need the $69.99-a-year membership, so three years cost $608.97 before tax46. The ring holds only up to three days of data, and the study behind Oura’s sleep figure tested an earlier research ring, not Ring 529.
  • No upfront price and a screen-free strap: WHOOP Peak. The $239 yearly membership includes the WHOOP 5.0 device and the Wireless PowerPack that charges it on the wrist1013. The warranty covers replacement for life while the membership stays active, and you can cancel and return within 30 days for a refund minus shipping10. The trade-off: it costs the most over three years, $717 if the fee renews at the listed price10. WHOOP publishes no dimensions, weight, water rating or sensor types1011. The ECG feature WHOOP describes as FDA-cleared is only on WHOOP MG with the $359-a-year Life tier1012.

What each one costs over three years

Counting the purchase and the recurring fee, the Ultrahuman is the cheapest over three years, at $47915. Oura Ring 5 comes to $608.97 on annual billing, and WHOOP Peak to $7174610. Those totals leave out tax and charging electricity, since none of the three makers states power draw.

The order changes over time. In the first year, WHOOP’s $239 is the smallest outlay10. Oura’s $399 plus one annual payment comes to $468.99, still under the Ultrahuman’s $4794615. Oura’s second annual payment takes it to $538.98, past the Ultrahuman. WHOOP’s second year brings it to $478, a dollar under the Ultrahuman.

Each fee buys something different. Without a membership, Oura’s app shows only the Readiness, Activity and Sleep scores, though you can still export all your data as CSV4. WHOOP’s membership page lists no hardware-only option and doesn’t say what the strap does after a membership ends10. Ultrahuman’s no-fee promise covers access to your data. Features such as Cardio Adaptability and Cycle & Ovulation Pro are sold as PowerPlugs15.

Cover follows the same split: WHOOP’s lifetime warranty depends on an active membership bought directly from WHOOP10. Oura includes a 1-year protection plan, with upgrades to 2 years for $45 or 3 years for $606. The product page doesn’t say whether it covers battery wear, scratches or loss6. Ultrahuman’s 12-month limited warranty doesn’t cover batteries unless a defect caused the failure1617. Theft and loss cover needs the $54 two-year UltrahumanX plan15.

Charging and syncing

WHOOP lists 14+ days a charge, and its Wireless PowerPack charges the strap while you wear it1013. WHOOP says a fully charged PowerPack holds enough power for up to 30 days to fully charge the sensor13. The Ultrahuman lists up to 15 days, and its case stretches that to up to 45 days between wall charges151618. Oura Ring 5 lists 6 to 9 days, depending on ring size and use12. Oura sells a Charging Case separately, and the product page doesn’t show its price6.

Storage matters if you go days without opening the app. Oura Ring 5 holds up to three days of data, against up to seven on Ring 42. Ultrahuman lists up to 250 days for Ring PRO, with up to a year backed up to the case1518. WHOOP’s pages don’t say how much data the strap stores, so ask WHOOP before relying on it between syncs1013.

What the accuracy claims don’t settle

None of the sources reviewed is a validation study of a current model. Oura states 99% heart-rate accuracy, an r² against ECG, and 95% sleep-staging accuracy against a sleep lab18. The sleep figure is for sleep versus wake1. The paper Oura cites tested a second-generation research ring over 440 nights from 106 people, and reached 79% accuracy across four stages9.

A 2024 systematic review compared earlier WHOOP straps with polysomnography or ambulatory EEG14. WHOOP’s pooled total sleep time bias was -1.4 minutes, but it correctly identified only about 56% of wake14. It agreed with the reference on 62% of sleep stages (kappa 0.46)14. Ultrahuman’s FAQ says Ring PRO’s metrics are benchmarked against industry-leading fitness wearables, without figures or a named study16.

The scores built on these readings are the makers’ own composites. WHOOP says Healthspan is for wellness purposes only and not for medical use10. The pages checked don’t say how WHOOP Age and Pace of Aging are calculated, or whether anyone has independently validated them10. Ultrahuman says Ring PRO isn’t a medical device16. Our evidence review covers what independent studies show about sleep staging, overnight heart rate and HRV across devices.

Keep reading

Sources

  1. Oura Ring 5 Oura · manufacturer
  2. Discover Oura Ring 5 Oura · manufacturer
  3. How to Choose the Right Oura Ring Size Oura · manufacturer
  4. Oura Membership Oura · manufacturer
  5. Oura Ring Membership Oura · manufacturer
  6. Oura Ring 5, Silver Oura · manufacturer
  7. Return & Exchange FAQs Oura · manufacturer
  8. How accurate is Oura? (Oura blog) Oura · manufacturer
  9. The Promise of Sleep: A Multi-Sensor Approach for Accurate Sleep Stage Detection Using the Oura Ring Sensors (MDPI), 2021
  10. WHOOP Membership WHOOP · manufacturer
  11. WHOOP unveils 5.0 and MG WHOOP Press Center · manufacturer
  12. WHOOP 5.0 and MG: Unlock Better Health, Fitness and Longevity WHOOP (The Locker) · manufacturer
  13. How Long Does WHOOP Battery Last? 14+ Days Explained WHOOP (The Locker) · manufacturer
  14. Accuracy of Fitbit Charge 4, Garmin Vivosmart 4, and WHOOP Versus Polysomnography: Systematic Review JMIR mHealth and uHealth, 2024 · systematic review
  15. Ultrahuman Ring PRO US buy page Ultrahuman · manufacturer
  16. Ring PRO FAQ Ultrahuman · manufacturer
  17. Smart Rings Terms of Sale Ultrahuman · manufacturer
  18. Compare Ring PRO vs Ring AIR Ultrahuman · manufacturer
  19. 5.0 SuperKnit Bands WHOOP · manufacturer
  20. WHOOP Performance Optimization (App Store listing) WHOOP (App Store) · manufacturer
  21. WHOOP (Google Play listing) WHOOP (Google Play) · manufacturer

How this was written. Written from the sources listed above, checked . It is general information, not medical advice. Talk to a clinician before acting on anything here if you have a health condition or take medication.

Our editorial policy →